Coupon
Pieces of Why
by K. L. Going


Overview - From the award winning author of "Fat Kid Rules the World" and "The Liberation of Gabriel King" comes a lyrical gem that asks all the hard questions and hits all the right notes--perfect for fans of Cynthia Rylant and "Mockingbird" by Kathryn Erskine
Tia lives with her mom in a high-risk neighborhood in New Orleans and loves singing gospel in the Rainbow Choir with Keisha, her boisterous and assertive best friend.
  Read more...

 
Paperback
  • $7.99
  • 20% off for Members: Get the Club Price
    $ 6.39

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 15 copies from $4.04
 
 
 

More About Pieces of Why by K. L. Going
 
 
 
Overview
From the award winning author of "Fat Kid Rules the World" and "The Liberation of Gabriel King" comes a lyrical gem that asks all the hard questions and hits all the right notes--perfect for fans of Cynthia Rylant and "Mockingbird" by Kathryn Erskine
Tia lives with her mom in a high-risk neighborhood in New Orleans and loves singing gospel in the Rainbow Choir with Keisha, her boisterous and assertive best friend. Tia's dream is to change the world with her voice; and by all accounts, she might be talented enough. But when a shooting happens in her neighborhood and she learns the truth about the crime that sent her father to prison years ago, Tia finds she can't sing anymore. The loss prompts her to start asking the people in her community hard questions--questions everyone has always been too afraid to ask.

"Skillfully tackles topics of race, class, and violence in a moving testament to family and friendship, love and loss, and the power of forgiveness." "Publishers Weekly""

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780147509864
  • ISBN-10: 0147509866
  • Publisher: Puffin Books
  • Publish Date: September 2016
  • Page Count: 240
  • Reading Level: Ages 10-13
  • Dimensions: 8 x 5 x 0.6 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.4 pounds


Related Categories

Books > Juvenile Fiction > Family - General
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Performing Arts - Music
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Social Themes - Adolescence

 
BAM Customer Reviews