Coupon
The Poet X
by Elizabeth Acevedo


Overview -

A 2018 National Book Award Finalist

Fans of Jacqueline Woodson, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds will fall hard for this astonishing New York Times -bestselling novel-in-verse by an award-winning slam poet, about an Afro-Latina heroine who tells her story with blazing words and powerful truth.  Read more...


 
Hardcover
  • $17.99
  • 20% off for Members: Get the Club Price
    $ 14.39
Add to Cart
+ Add to Wishlist
In Stock.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 26 copies from $12.29
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About The Poet X by Elizabeth Acevedo
 
 
 
Overview

A 2018 National Book Award Finalist

Fans of Jacqueline Woodson, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds will fall hard for this astonishing New York Times-bestselling novel-in-verse by an award-winning slam poet, about an Afro-Latina heroine who tells her story with blazing words and powerful truth.

Xiomara Batista feels unheard and unable to hide in her Harlem neighborhood. Ever since her body grew into curves, she has learned to let her fists and her fierceness do the talking.

But Xiomara has plenty she wants to say, and she pours all her frustration and passion onto the pages of a leather notebook, reciting the words to herself like prayers--especially after she catches feelings for a boy in her bio class named Aman, who her family can never know about.

With Mami's determination to force her daughter to obey the laws of the church, Xiomara understands that her thoughts are best kept to herself. So when she is invited to join her school's slam poetry club, she doesn't know how she could ever attend without her mami finding out. But she still can't stop thinking about performing her poems.

Because in the face of a world that may not want to hear her, Xiomara refuses to be silent.

"Crackles with energy and snaps with authenticity and voice." --Justina Ireland, author of Dread Nation

"An incredibly potent debut." --Jason Reynolds, author of the National Book Award Finalist Ghost

"Acevedo has amplified the voices of girls en el barrio who are equal parts goddess, saint, warrior, and hero." --Ibi Zoboi, author of American Street


 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780062662804
  • ISBN-10: 0062662805
  • Publisher: Harperteen
  • Publish Date: March 2018
  • Page Count: 368
  • Reading Level: Ages 13-17
  • Dimensions: 8.3 x 5.6 x 1.4 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.92 pounds


Related Categories

Books > Young Adult Fiction > Novels in Verse
Books > Young Adult Fiction > People & Places - United States - Hispanic & Latino
Books > Young Adult Fiction > Coming of Age

 
BAM Customer Reviews