Coupon
Presidents' Day
by Seth Margolis


Overview - For readers of David Baldacci and Brad Meltzer comes a timely political thriller from the bestselling author of Losing Isaiah .

In this twisting, ferocious novel of suspense, the presidential race has a number of men all clawing to get to the top.  Read more...


 
Paperback
  • $16.99

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock Online.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 15 copies from $7.99
 
 
 

More About Presidents' Day by Seth Margolis
 
 
 
Overview
For readers of David Baldacci and Brad Meltzer comes a timely political thriller from the bestselling author of Losing Isaiah.

In this twisting, ferocious novel of suspense, the presidential race has a number of men all clawing to get to the top. Each man has a locked closet of secrets. And one man holds every key.

Julian Mellow has spent his life amassing a fortune out of low-risk / high-reward investments. But the one time in his life he got in over his head, he left another man holding the bag, and made an enemy for life, one who has nothing to lose. Now, Mellow has an even greater ambition--to select the next President of the United States--and to make that man do his bidding, in business and beyond.

It all ties to an African nation where his son died years before, where a brutal dictator still rules supreme, and where a resistance movement lurks in the alleys, waiting for the right time to strike. Margolis spans the globe to weave together a brilliant story of politics at its most venal, where murder is a part of the political process, where anyone's life is up for sale, and where one man--that bad penny of an enemy--could bring the whole kingdom toppling.

As the new President is inaugurated, Seth Margolis has penned a perfect thriller for the voting public, one that asks who really puts the next person in the White House--and at what cost?

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9781682306970
  • ISBN-10: 1682306976
  • Publisher: Diversion Publishing - Ips
  • Publish Date: February 2017
  • Page Count: 360
  • Dimensions: 8.5 x 5.4 x 0.8 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.9 pounds


Related Categories

Books > Fiction > Thrillers - Political
Books > Fiction > Thrillers - Suspense

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2016-12-12
  • Reviewer: Staff

Super-rich New Yorker Julian Mellow, the ambitious villain of this melodramatic political thriller from Margolis (Semper Sonnet), believes that Every election is stolen; its only a question of which thief gets away with the prize. Mellow uses fixer Billy Sandifer for almost all his dirty work, beginning with a blackmail scheme to make Sen. Harry Lightstone, a Pennsylvania Republican, a dark horse candidate for president. Meanwhile, jobless Zach Springer, who was once Mellows trusted financial adviser until his boss betrayed him, obsessively tracks the mans every move from his home on Manhattans Upper West Side. Using Sandifer as his tool, Mellow reduces the Republican field (a fatal plane crash, a drug scandal, a murder) while dictating Lightstones agenda. Mellow even foments his own plans for the tiny African nation of Kamalia, where his only child, Matthew, was murdered two years earlier. Margolis spins a rather simplistic tale of wealth and power run amok. (Feb.)

 
BAM Customer Reviews