Coupon
The Prime Minister's Secret Agent
by Susan Elia Macneal


Overview - NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER For fans of Jacqueline Winspear, Charles Todd, and Anne Perry comesa gripping mystery featuring intrepid spy and code breaker Maggie Hope. This time, the fallout of a deadly plot comes straight to her own front door.  Read more...

 
Paperback
  • $16.00

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock Online.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 75 copies from $2.99
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About The Prime Minister's Secret Agent by Susan Elia Macneal
 
 
 
Overview
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER For fans of Jacqueline Winspear, Charles Todd, and Anne Perry comesa gripping mystery featuring intrepid spy and code breaker Maggie Hope. This time, the fallout of a deadly plot comes straight to her own front door.

World War II rages on across Europe, but Maggie Hope has finally found a moment of rest on the pastoral coast of western Scotland. Home from an undercover mission in Berlin, she settles down to teach at her old spy training camp, and to heal from scars on both her body and heart. Yet instead of enjoying the quieter pace of life, Maggie is quickly drawn into another web of danger and intrigue. When three ballerinas fall strangely ill in Glasgow including one of Maggie s dearest friends Maggie partners with MI-5 to uncover the truth behind their unusual symptoms. What she finds points to a series of poisonings that may expose shocking government secrets and put countless British lives at stake. But it s the fight brewing in the Pacific that will forever change the course of the war and indelibly shape Maggie s fate.
Praise for The Prime Minister s Secret Agent

A] stellar series . . . Susan Elia] MacNeal has written an impeccably researched, wonderfully engaging story. Minneapolis Star Tribune

A treat for WWII buffs and mystery lovers alike. Booklist

MacNeal] seamlessly mixes fact and fiction. Publishers Weekly

Splendid . . . riveting . . . The research is complete and fascinating. . . . The scenes are so detailed that readers will feel as if they are next to the characters and listening to them speaking. RT Book Reviews (Top Pick)

Fans of Jacqueline Winspear and Charles Todd will feast on this riveting series chronicling Britain s own Greatest Generation. MacNeal s research and gift for dialogue shine through on every page, transporting the reader to Churchill s inner circle. The Prime Minister s Secret Agent is both top-drawer historical fiction and mystery in its finest hour. Julia Spencer-Fleming, New York Times bestselling author of Through the Evil Days
Praise for Susan Elia MacNeal s Maggie Hope mysteries
You ll be Maggie Hope s] loyal subject, ready to follow her wherever she goes. O: The Oprah Magazine

A heart-pounding novel peopled with fully drawn real and fictional characters . . . provides the thrills that readers have come to expect from MacNeal. Richmond Times-Dispatch, on His Majesty s Hope
With false starts, double agents, and red herrings . . . MacNeal provides a vivid view of life both above and below stairs at Windsor Castle. Publishers Weekly, on Princess Elizabeth s Spy"

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780345536747
  • ISBN-10: 0345536746
  • Publisher: Bantam
  • Publish Date: July 2014
  • Page Count: 306

Series: Maggie Hope Mysteries

Related Categories

Books > Fiction > Mystery & Detective - Women Sleuths
Books > Fiction > Mystery & Detective - Traditional

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2014-05-12
  • Reviewer: Staff

Set in 1941, MacNeal’s fine fourth Maggie Hope mystery finds Maggie teaching at a training camp for spies in Scotland. Traumatized by her experiences in Berlin in 2013’s His Majesty’s Hope, she pushes the recruits hard, desperate for some peace of her own. Getting a close friend off a murder charge and helping to investigate the death of two ballet dancers bring her some respite. She also learns more about the war effort—and the difficulty of fighting a “clean” war—than she ever wanted to know. MacNeal focuses on the moral price of war, whose costs affect everyone from Maggie to Winston Churchill. She seamlessly mixes fact and fiction in the buildup to the Japanese attack on Pearl Harbor. The book’s weakest link is Maggie’s mother, the imprisoned German spy Clara Hess, who’s scheduled for execution. With the emergence of multiple personalities, Clara comes across as a plot device, not a character. Agent: Victoria Skurnick, Levine Greenberg Literary. (July)

 
BAM Customer Reviews