Coupon
Prodigy
by Marie Lu


Overview - Featured on "Entertainment Weekly"'s MUST-LIST
The highly anticipated second book in Marie Lu's "New York Times" bestseller, LEGEND--perfect for fans of THE HUNGER GAMES and DIVERGENT

June and Day arrive in Vegas just as the unthinkable happens: the Elector Primo dies, and his son Anden takes his place.  Read more...


 
Hardcover
  • Retail Price: $18.99
  • $11.96
    (Save 37%)

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock Online.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 66 copies from $2.99
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About Prodigy by Marie Lu
 
 
 
Overview
Featured on "Entertainment Weekly"'s MUST-LIST
The highly anticipated second book in Marie Lu's "New York Times" bestseller, LEGEND--perfect for fans of THE HUNGER GAMES and DIVERGENT

June and Day arrive in Vegas just as the unthinkable happens: the Elector Primo dies, and his son Anden takes his place. With the Republic edging closer to chaos, the two join a group of Patriot rebels eager to help Day rescue his brother and offer passage to the Colonies. They have only one request--June and Day must assassinate the new Elector.

It's their chance to change the nation, to give voice to a people silenced for too long.

But as June realizes this Elector is nothing like his father, she's haunted by the choice ahead. What if Anden is a new beginning? What if revolution must be more than loss and vengeance, anger and blood--what if the Patriots are wrong?



 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780399256769
  • ISBN-10: 0399256768
  • Publisher: G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers
  • Publish Date: January 2013
  • Page Count: 384
  • Reading Level: Ages 12-UP
  • Dimensions: 8.3 x 5.9 x 1.4 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.9 pounds

Series: Legend Trilogy

Related Categories

Books > > Dystopian
Books > > War & Military
Books > > Action & Adventure - General

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2012-11-26
  • Reviewer: Staff

The characters are known, world-building is complete, and readers know the destination is still out of reach. It’s the second book of a trilogy—how will the author handle it? Lu opts for a high simmer of intrigue in her sequel to Legend. June and Day are crucial pawns in the game of political plot and counterplot as power at the top of the Republic changes hands. Love must take a backseat: for Day, to family and friends; and for June, to the greater good that is her lodestone now that her family is dead. The pair is separated for much of the book, and talk dominates action—the world-shaping machinations are the means to bring about a more personal, subtle pivot in the story. June and Day were once divided by ignorance and circumstance; now they are held apart by principle and choice. The portrayal of their dilemma is taut and insightful, and while the story line resembles a high plateau of tension rather than a conventional arc, there are enough unfolding questions to propel the narrative to its aching ending. Ages 12–up. Agent: Kristin Nelson, Nelson Literary Agency. (Jan.)

 
BAM Customer Reviews