by Alex London

Overview - The adventure novel of the year Inspired by The Whipping Boy and Feed , this adrenaline-fueled thriller will appeal to fans of TheHunger Games and Divergent .
Knox was born into one of the City'swealthiest families.

  • Retail Price: $17.99
  • $12.77
    (Save 29%)

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

New & Used Marketplace 46 copies from $2.99

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.

More About Proxy by Alex London
The adventure novel of the year Inspired by The Whipping Boy and Feed, this adrenaline-fueled thriller will appeal to fans ofTheHunger Gamesand Divergent.
Knox was born into one of the City'swealthiest families. A Patron, he has everything a boy could possibly want the latest tech, the coolest clothes, and a Proxy to take all his punishments. When Knox breaks a vase, Syd is beaten.When Knox plays a practical joke, Syd isforced tohaul rocks. And when Knox crashes a car, killing one of his friends, Syd is branded and sentenced to death.
Syd is a Proxy. His life is not his own.
Then again, neither is Knox s. Knox and Syd have more in common than either would guess. So when Knox and Syd realize that the only way to beat the system is to save each other, they flee. Yet Knox s father is no ordinary Patron, and Syd is no ordinary Proxy. The ensuing cross-country chase will uncover a secret society of rebels, test both boys resolve, and shine a blinding light onto a world of those who owe and those who pay. Some debts, it turns out, cannot be repaid.
A fast-paced, thrill-ride of novel full of non-stop action, heart-hammering suspense and true friendship just as moving as it is exhilarating. Fans of Anthony Horowitz's Alex Rider series, James Dashner's Maze Runner, Patrick Ness's Chaos Walking series, and Marie Lu's Legend trilogy will be swept away by this story.
Praise forPROXY
Looking for an awesome YA summer read? Look no further than Alex London sProxy.
"Put down what you're doing and read this book. Right now. The complex characters, intricate world, and blistering pace are off-the-charts amazing. I fell in love with this story from the first sentence to the final, epic page. London is a force to be reckoned with." Marie Lu, author of the Legend trilogy
A] smart, stylish science-fiction thriller that deftly weaves big issues like guilt, accidents of birth, redemption and commerce into a page-turning read. Kirkus Reviews
A fast-paced dystopian novel which should appeal to readers of theHunger Games. VOYA
"Alex London is one of the most multi-dimensional writers out there.Proxyblew me away. It's deep, thrilling, thought-provoking, and at times simultaneously maddening and uplifting. I need to have more of Syd and Knox.Proxyis one stunning read " Andrew Smith, author of Winger and Grasshopper Jungle
Proxymoves blindingly fast through a world of danger gone viral. It's science-fiction on a joy ride full of deceit and imagination. DeseretNews
A big twist and heroic ending will leave readers eager for more Shelf Awareness
Offering intriguing moral dilemmas amid breakneck action The matter-of-fact presence of a gay lead Syd] in an action driven story is welcome and overdue. Publishers Weekly
An action-packed thrill ride. School Library Journal"

  • ISBN-13: 9780399257766
  • ISBN-10: 0399257764
  • Publisher: Philomel Books
  • Publish Date: June 2013
  • Page Count: 379
  • Reading Level: Ages 12-UP

Related Categories

Books > Juvenile Fiction > Dystopian
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Science Fiction
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Action & Adventure - Survival Stories

Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2013-04-29
  • Reviewer: Staff

London (the Accidental Adventures series) moves from middle-grade to YA with an entertaining throwback to ’70s dystopias like Logan’s Run, offering intriguing moral dilemmas amid breakneck action. Knox is a spoiled rich kid who spends his time doing drugs, seducing girls, and occasionally stealing a car for a joyride. He has nothing to worry about, because whenever he gets in trouble, it’s his Proxy—a slum resident and tech genius named Syd—who pays the price, since he’s tied to Knox as a result of crippling debt he was born into. When Knox’s recklessness gets his latest conquest killed, the consequences and the boys’ reactions lead to fast-paced chases, conspiratorial revelations, and assorted twists. London has no qualms about killing off his characters, major or minor, and the matter-of-fact presence of a gay lead (Syd) in an action-driven story is welcome and overdue. Some scenes (like Syd’s early escape from “justice”) over-rely on coincidence or tech that fails in just the right way, but the novel’s ethical questions, tense relationships, and exciting battles will carry readers swiftly through. Ages 12–up. Agent: Robert Guinsler, Sterling Lord Literistic. (June)

BAM Customer Reviews