Coupon
The Pursuit of Pearls
by Jane Thynne


Overview - Perfect for fans of Jacqueline Winspear, Charles Todd, Robert Harris, and Susan Elia MacNeal, here is the next thrilling historical novel featuring Clara Vine, the British actress and special agent who glides through the upper echelons of Nazi society, covertly gathering key intelligence--and placing herself in mortal peril.  Read more...

 
In Stock.

This item is Non-Returnable.
FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 37 copies from $3.48
 
 
 

More About The Pursuit of Pearls by Jane Thynne
 
 
 
Overview
Perfect for fans of Jacqueline Winspear, Charles Todd, Robert Harris, and Susan Elia MacNeal, here is the next thrilling historical novel featuring Clara Vine, the British actress and special agent who glides through the upper echelons of Nazi society, covertly gathering key intelligence--and placing herself in mortal peril.

In the spring of 1939, the drums of war beat throughout Europe, but nowhere more ferociously than in Berlin. The film studio where Clara Vine works is churning out movies, but each day that she stays in Germany is more dangerous than the last. Spying on the private life of the Third Reich, passing secrets to contacts in British intelligence, falling into a passionate affair--any of these risky moves could get Clara shot. So she is wholly shaken when someone close to her is murdered instead. The victim is Lottie Franke, an aspiring costume designer and student at the prestigious Faith and Beauty finishing school that trains young women to become the wives of the Nazi elite. While the press considers Lottie's death in the Grunewald forest the act of a lone madman, Clara uncovers deeper threads, tangled lines that seem to reach into the darkest depths of the Reich--and to a precious discovery that Hitler and his ruthless cohorts would kill for.

Previously published in the U.K. as Faith and Beauty

Praise for Jane Thynne's first Clara Vine novel, The Scent of Secrets

"A brilliant tale of spies and secrets, of intense psychological drama, of edgy climax and one extraordinary heroine."--Beatriz Williams, New York Times bestselling author of A Hundred Summers

"A compelling story of love and betrayal in Hitler's Berlin . . . Peppered with real-life characters, this series offers a fascinating glimpse of the extraordinary world of the Nazi wives."--Daisy Goodwin, author of The American Heiress

"An alluring blend of thrills, suspense, historic detail, and seduction."--Susan Elia MacNeal, author of the Maggie Hope series

"An extraordinary, absorbing read with an array of characters so real you're there with them as war looms, and a pace that sweeps you from page to page. This is indeed a winner "--Charles Todd, author of Inspector Ian Rutledge Mysteries


This item is Non-Returnable.

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780553393866
  • ISBN-10: 0553393863
  • Publisher: Ballantine Books
  • Publish Date: May 2016
  • Page Count: 512
  • Dimensions: 8.2 x 5.5 x 1 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.7 pounds

Series: Clara Vine #1

Related Categories

Books > Fiction > Historical - General
Books > Fiction > Mystery & Detective - Historical
Books > Fiction > Sagas

 
BAM Customer Reviews