Coupon
A Quiet Kind of Thunder
by Sara Barnard


Overview - A girl who can't speak and a boy who can't hear go on a journey of self-discovery and find support with each other in this gripping, emotionally resonant novel from bestselling author Sara Barnard. Perfect for fans of Morgan Matson and Jandy Nelson.  Read more...

 
Hardcover
  • $18.99
  • 20% off for Members: Get the Club Price
    $ 15.19
Add to Cart
+ Add to Wishlist
In Stock.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 29 copies from $6.51
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About A Quiet Kind of Thunder by Sara Barnard
 
 
 
Overview
A girl who can't speak and a boy who can't hear go on a journey of self-discovery and find support with each other in this gripping, emotionally resonant novel from bestselling author Sara Barnard. Perfect for fans of Morgan Matson and Jandy Nelson.

Steffi doesn't talk, but she has so much to say.
Rhys can't hear, but he can listen.

Steffi has been a selective mute for most of her life. The condition's name has always felt ironic to her, because she certainly does not "select" not to speak. In fact, she would give anything to be able to speak as easily and often as everyone around her can. She suffers from crippling anxiety, and uncontrollably, in most situations simply can't open her mouth to get out the words.

Steffi's been silent for so long that she feels completely invisible. But Rhys, the new boy at school, sees her. He's deaf, and her knowledge of basic sign language means that she's assigned to help him acclimate. To Rhys, it doesn't matter that Steffi doesn't talk. As they find ways to communicate, Steffi discovers that she does have a voice, and that she's falling in love with the one person who makes her feel brave enough to use it. But as she starts to overcome a lifelong challenge, she'll soon confront questions about the nature of her own identity and the very essence of what it is to know another person.

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9781534402416
  • ISBN-10: 1534402411
  • Publisher: Simon Pulse
  • Publish Date: January 2018
  • Page Count: 400
  • Reading Level: Ages 14-17
  • Dimensions: 8.3 x 5.5 x 1.4 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.15 pounds


Related Categories

Books > Young Adult Fiction > Social Themes - Mental Illness
Books > Young Adult Fiction > Social Themes - Disabilities & Special Needs
Books > Young Adult Fiction > Romance - Contemporary

 
BAM Customer Reviews