by Sepultura

In Stock Online.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary


More About Roots by Sepultura

Track Listing

1 Roots Bloody Roots
2 Attitude
3 Cut-Throat
4 Ratamahatta - (African Languages)
5 Breed Apart
6 Straighthate
7 Spit
8 Lookaway
9 Dusted
10 Born Stubborn
11 Jasco
12 Itsari - (African Languages)
13 Ambush
14 Endangered Species
15 Dictatorsh*T
16 Canyon Jam - (Hidden Track)

Featured Artists: Mike Patton and Jonathan Davis and Carlinhos Brown and DJ Lethal

Genre: Heavy Metal
  • Genre: Popular Music
  • Release Date: March 1996
  • Label: Roadrunner Records
  • Format: CD
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Audio Format: Stereo
  • Producer: Ross Robinson
  • Engineer: Chuck Johnson
Music Reviews

Editorial Reviews

Rolling Stone (3/21/96, p.98) - 3 Stars - Good - "...Sepultura play a violent game of sonic overload....the band uses its catharsis as a creative force, funneling torrents of noise into a tunnel of hate..."

Spin (4/96, p.110) - 6 - Reasonably Good - "...takes the rain-forest chants and street drumming flavor that flickered through the firestorm of CHAOS A.D. even further....Sepultura's ethnography...[is] about sound--heavy bloco drumming and crushing guitars were made for each other..."

Q (7/01, p.91) - Included in Q's "50 Heaviest Albums of All Time".

Q (3/96, p.103) - 3 Stars - Good - "'s constructed of ferocious throat bending and huge riffs that support their growling menace, while simultaneously doffing a cap to their ethnic ancestors..."

Melody Maker (2/17/96, p.34) - "...the aural equivalent of being caught in a midfield by a PCP-fuelled defensive line from the Pittsburgh Steelers....this is [not] a mere metal barrage....There's ruthless rap attacks...the murderous electronic whining...the tribal chants and Brazilian ragga metal duets..."

NME (Magazine) (2/24/96, p.46) - 7 (out of 10) - "...a host of strange and traditional instruments has given Sepultura new formats for their extreme displeasure..."

Customer Reviews