Coupon
The Ramblers
by Aidan Donnelley Rowley


Overview -

For fans of J. Courtney Sullivan, Meg Wolitzer, Claire Messud, and Emma Straub, a gorgeous and absorbing novel of a trio of confused souls struggling to find themselves and the way forward in their lives, set against the spectacular backdrop of contemporary New York City.  Read more...


 
Hardcover
  • $25.99

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock. Place Order by Noon EST December 18th and Choose Free/Standard Shipping for Christmas Delivery.

Free Shipping is not available for this item.
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 66 copies from $2.99
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About The Ramblers by Aidan Donnelley Rowley
 
 
 
Overview

For fans of J. Courtney Sullivan, Meg Wolitzer, Claire Messud, and Emma Straub, a gorgeous and absorbing novel of a trio of confused souls struggling to find themselves and the way forward in their lives, set against the spectacular backdrop of contemporary New York City.

Set in the most magical parts of Manhattan--the Upper West Side, Central Park, Greenwich Village--The Ramblers explores the lives of three lost souls, bound together by friendship and family. During the course of one fateful Thanksgiving week, a time when emotions run high and being with family can be a mixed blessing, Rowley's sharply defined characters explore the moments when decisions are deliberately made, choices accepted, and pasts reconciled.

Clio Marsh, whose bird-watching walks through Central Park are mentioned in New York Magazine, is taking her first tentative steps towards a relationship while also looking back to the secrets of her broken childhood. Her best friend, Smith Anderson, the seemingly-perfect daughter of one of New York's wealthiest families, organizes the lives of others as her own has fallen apart. And Tate Pennington has returned to the city, heartbroken but determined to move ahead with his artistic dreams.

Rambling through the emotional chaos of their lives, this trio learns to let go of the past, to make room for the future and the uncertainty and promise that it holds. The Ramblers is a love letter to New York City--an accomplished, sumptuous novel about fate, loss, hope, birds, friendship, love, the wonders of the natural world and the mysteries of the human spirit.


 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780062413314
  • ISBN-10: 0062413317
  • Publisher: William Morrow & Company
  • Publish Date: February 2016
  • Page Count: 400
  • Dimensions: 9.1 x 6.1 x 1.4 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.2 pounds


Related Categories

Books > Fiction > Contemporary Women
Books > Fiction > Literary
Books > Fiction > Family Life

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2015-11-16
  • Reviewer: Staff

A trio of New Yorkers leading charmed lives must overcome everyday complications in order to move forward in Rowleys sophomore outing (after Life After Yes). Ornithologist Clio Marsh has her dream job at the Museum of Natural History and the love of the winning, much-older hotel magnate Henry Kildare, whos ready to commit. But Clios having reservations about the relationship: shes never been up front with Henry about her mothers bipolar disorder and suicide, and shes constantly worried that her mothers demons may eventually catch her as well. Meanwhile, Clios best friend and longtime roommate Smith Anderson is trying to keep it together while Smiths younger sisters impending marriage provides constant reminders of Smiths own broken engagement. A chance reconnection with an old college acquaintance of Smith, Tate Pennington, is a temporary respite from Smiths heartbreak, but Tate, a newly single Internet mogul whos just sold his company to Twitter, feels unmoored with no job, too much money, and the sudden dissolution of his marriage. Propelled by the kinds of rote sitcom-style misunderstandings that seem like they could be more easily resolved, this tale is light on plot, but Rowleys Manhattan provides a vivid and charming setting for her nuanced (if not always sympathetic) characters to evolve. (Feb.)

 
BAM Customer Reviews