Coupon
Reputations
by Juan Gabriel Vasquez and Anne McLean


Overview - From the brilliant mind of the bestselling, award-winning author of The Sound of Things Falling , a powerful novel about a legendary political cartoonist. Perfect for readers of Ian McEwan and J. M. Coetzee.
Javier Mallarino is a living legend.
  Read more...

 
Hardcover
  • $25.00
  • Members Take 10% Off! Club Price
    $ 22.50

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About Reputations by Juan Gabriel Vasquez; Anne McLean
 
 
 
Overview
From the brilliant mind of the bestselling, award-winning author of The Sound of Things Falling, a powerful novel about a legendary political cartoonist. Perfect for readers of Ian McEwan and J. M. Coetzee.
Javier Mallarino is a living legend. He is his country's most influential political cartoonist, the consciousness of a nation. A man capable of repealing laws, overturning judges' decisions, destroying politicians' careers with his art. His weapons are pen and ink. Those in power fear him and pay him homage.
At sixty-five, after four decades of a brilliant career, he's at the height of his powers. But this all changes when he's paid an unexpected visit from a young woman who upends his sense of personal history and forces him to re-evaluate his life and work, questioning his position in the world.
In Reputations, Juan Gabriel Vasquez examines the weight of the past, how a public persona intersects with private histories, and the burdens and surprises of memory. In this intimate novel that recalls authors like Coetzee and Ian McEwan, Vasquez plumbs universal experiences to create a masterful story, one that reverberates long after you turn the final page."

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9781594633478
  • ISBN-10: 1594633479
  • Publisher: Riverhead Books
  • Publish Date: September 2016
  • Page Count: 208


Related Categories

Books > Fiction > Hispanic & Latino
Books > Fiction > Political
Books > Fiction > Psychological

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2016-07-04
  • Reviewer: Staff

Javier Mallarino, renowned political cartoonist, has reached the apex of his career. He’s feted at a ceremony with speeches and a commemorative stamp while his estranged wife (whom he loves) watches from the audience. But a film tribute shown during the program triggers something in the memory of another woman in the audience, unraveling several lives as the past is revisited. Mallarino is forced to reexamine, through the eyes of this woman, the very basis of his reputation, an accusation of sexual misconduct he implied in a caricature that destroyed the career of a politician and eventually led to his death. Colombia’s violent past has receded in this Bogotá-set novel; instead the author seeks to distill the nation’s collective experience into universal truths that transcend history. In McLean’s translation, Vásquez’s prose is luminous, the spooling and unspooling of his characters’ thoughts convincing and powerful. One of Vásquez’s greatest conundrums is the confluence of the public and private—how little control the individual has, how easily a life is made or ruined by events or the will of others. (Sept.)

 
BAM Customer Reviews