Coupon
Rites of Passage
by Joy N. Hensley


Overview -

In this fast-paced, high-stakes debut novel, sixteen-year-old Sam McKenna discovers that becoming one of the first girls to attend a revered military academy means living with a target on her back. As Sam struggles to prove herself, she learns that a decades-old secret society is alive and active .  Read more...


 
Hardcover
  • $17.99
  • Members Save 10% Club Price
    $ 16.19

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 21 copies from $6.44
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 

More About Rites of Passage by Joy N. Hensley
 
 
 
Overview

In this fast-paced, high-stakes debut novel, sixteen-year-old Sam McKenna discovers that becoming one of the first girls to attend a revered military academy means living with a target on her back. As Sam struggles to prove herself, she learns that a decades-old secret society is alive and active . . . and determined to force her out. Fans of Simone Elkeles and Trish Doller will love Rites of Passage s perfect blend ofsizzling romance and edge-of-your-seatsuspense."

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780062295194
  • ISBN-10: 0062295195
  • Publisher: Harper Teen
  • Publish Date: September 2014
  • Page Count: 416
  • Reading Level: Ages 13-UP


Related Categories

Books > Juvenile Fiction > Social Themes - Bullying
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Love & Romance
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Social Themes - Self-Esteem & Self-Reliance

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2014-05-19
  • Reviewer: Staff

Sam McKenna is about to be among the first young women to attend the all-male Denmark Military Academy, and her angry male peers hope to oust the girls before the first semester is over. Despite these odds, Sam is determined to make it: hers is a military family through and through, and before her brother Amos killed himself one year earlier, he dared Sam to attend the DMA, and she’s determined to honor that wish. Thus begins a year of punishing military training, huge expectations, terrible living conditions, and nonstop emotional and physical abuse for Sam, with precious few allies. Debut novelist Hensley, a former cadet herself, writes with substantial knowledge of academy life, hazing, and the parameters of military rank and file. The first half of the novel is a fascinating portrait of young women breaking military barriers, though the story becomes overdramatic, with over-the-top villains, conspiracy theories, and a decades-old secret military society. This aside, Sam is easy to root for as a heroine, and it’s a strong first showing for Hensley. Ages 13–up. Agent: Mandy Hubbard, D4EO Literary Agency. (Sept.)

 
BAM Customer Reviews