Coupon
The Road of Danger
by David Drake


Overview - Master and Commander in space Brilliant and brave starship captain Daniel Leary and ace spy Adele Mundy confront a pirate plot and once again save the Republic of Cinnabar despite itself.

#9 in the national best selling RCN space adventure series.  Read more...


 
Hardcover
  • $25.00
Sorry: This item is not currently available.

Free Shipping is not available for this item.
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 31 copies from $2.99
 
 
 
 

More About The Road of Danger by David Drake
 
 
 
Overview
Master and Commander in space Brilliant and brave starship captain Daniel Leary and ace spy Adele Mundy confront a pirate plot and once again save the Republic of Cinnabar despite itself.

#9 in the national best selling RCN space adventure series.

Captain Daniel Leary with his friend-and spy-Officer Adele Mundy are sent to a quiet sector to carry out an easy task: helping the local admiral put down a coup before it takes place. But then the jealous admiral gets rid of them by sending them off on a wild goose chase to a sector where commerce is king and business is carried out by extortion and gunfights.

With anarchy and rebellion in the air, a rogue intelligence officer plots the war that will destroy civilization and enlists the help of a brute whom even torturers couldn't stomach.

And, of course, it's up to Leary and Mundy to put a stop to the madness.

About David Drake's previous RCN novel, What Distant Deeps:
"Drake deftly weaves a web of political machinations and intrigue that vividly depicts the costs of war. Fans of Patrick O'Brian's Maturin and Aubrey novels will enjoy this intricate, rousing space opera." -Publishers Weekly

About David Drake's RCN series:
" R]ousing old-fashioned space opera." -Publishers Weekly

"The fun is in the telling, and Mr. Drake has a strong voice. I want more " -Philadelphia Weekly Press

" S]pace opera is alive and well. This series is getting better as the author goes along...character development combined with first-rate action and memorable world designs." -SFReader.com

About David Drake:
" P]rose as cold and hard s the metal alloy of a tank...rivals Crane and Remarque..." -Chicago Sun-Times

"Drake couldn't write a bad action scene at gunpoint." -Booklist

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9781451638158
  • ISBN-10: 1451638159
  • Publisher: Baen Books
  • Publish Date: April 2012
  • Page Count: 349
  • Dimensions: 9.49 x 6.4 x 1.33 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.2 pounds

Series: RCN

Related Categories

Books > Fiction > Science Fiction - Action & Adventure
Books > Fiction > Science Fiction - Space Opera

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2012-09-10
  • Reviewer: Staff

In the ninth book of Drake's The RCN Series (after 2011's What Distant Deeps), Captain Daniel Leary and information savant Adele Mundy of the Republic of Cinnabar Navy are sent on a covert mission into Alliance space to uncover and potentially end a revolt on the frontier planet of Sunbright. Rumor has it that the rebel leader, known only as Freedom, is an agent of Cinnabar, and Leary must discover the truth and stop the rebellion before Alliance-Cinnabar interstellar relations devolve into full-scale war. Loosely based on Livy's account of Hamilcar's third-century B.C.E. rebellion against Rome, this colorless and repetitive character-driven space opera mixes history and military science fiction, but fails to add up to anything more than a dull mess. (Apr.)

 
BAM Customer Reviews