Coupon
A Roman Ransom (A Libertus Mystery of Roman Britain, book 8) : A cunning crime thriller of blackmail and corruption
by Rowe, Rosemary


Overview -

A thrilling glimpse of life in Roman Britain...

A bedbound Libertus is faced with one of his toughest dilemmas yet, involving a dangerous ransom note. A Roman Ransom is the perfect read for fans of David Wishart and Lindsey Davis.  Read more...


 

Download

Language: eng

This item is only available to U.S. billing addresses.

 
 
 
 

More About A Roman Ransom (A Libertus Mystery of Roman Britain, book 8) by Rowe, Rosemary
 
 
 
Overview

A thrilling glimpse of life in Roman Britain...

A bedbound Libertus is faced with one of his toughest dilemmas yet, involving a dangerous ransom note. A Roman Ransom is the perfect read for fans of David Wishart and Lindsey Davis.

'It's a humdinger of a plot with more twists and turns than a spiral staircase' - Northern Echo

Glevum, AD 188. Lying in his sick bed, weak and disoriented, Libertus is strictly forbidden visitors. But when Marcus Septimus forces his way in, desperate to speak to the pavement-maker, Libertus knows that something is seriously wrong. Marcus's beloved wife Julia and their baby son have disappeared without a trace. And now a ransom note has arrived, wrapped in the hem of Julia's stola: unless Marcus uses his power to release a certain political prisoner, he will never see his family alive again. Libertus is well aware of Marcus's dilemma: give in to the kidnappers and sacrifice his reputation for being fair and unmoved by bribery, or stand firm and provoke unimaginable consequences. But Libertus has also made a powerful enemy. How can he help his patron - and himself - this time?

What readers are saying about A Roman Ransom:

'Rowe captures a genuine atmosphere in a way unequalled by almost any other author of the Roman period'

'Another fine addition to the Libertus series'

'Rosemary Rowe is unsurpassed in creating a picture of Roman Britain'



This item is Non-Returnable.

 
Details
  • ISBN: 9781472205124
  • Publisher: Headline
  • Imprint: Headline
  • Date: Apr 2013
  • Seller Statement: Sold by Hachette Book Group USA
 
Customer Reviews