Seven Swans
by Sufjan Stevens

  • $15.98
Sorry: This item is not currently available.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary


More About Seven Swans by Sufjan Stevens

Track Listing

1 All the Trees of the Field Will Clap Their Hands
2 Dress Looks Nice on You, The
3 In the Devil's Territory
4 To Be Alone With You
5 Abraham
6 Sister
7 Size Too Small
8 We Won't Need Legs to Stand
9 Good Man Is Hard to Find, A
10 He Woke Me Up Again
11 Seven Swans
12 Transfiguration, The

Genre: Country
  • Genre: Popular Music
  • Release Date: March 2004
  • Label: Family Rekords
  • Format: CD
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Audio Format: Stereo
  • Producer: Daniel Smith
Music Reviews

Editorial Reviews

Spin (p.89) - "[T]hese florid meditations on surety and doubt are earth-shaking if you're a believer..."

Spin (p.108) - "ME FIRST slides gently rolling beats and Grandaddy-esque swoosh under irresistible choruses and slide guitar." - Grade: B+

Entertainment Weekly (3/19/04, p.66) - "His melodies are deceptively simple but utterly beguiling..." - Grade: A-

Uncut (4/04, p.92) - 4 stars out of 5 - "All the requisite signifiers are in place: spare, brittle melodies; a hushed intimacy, where every squeak of fingertip on strings resonates."

Uncut (p.74) - Ranked #24 in Uncut's "Best New Albums of 2004" - "[A] delirious baptism of mystical chamber-pop..."

Magnet (p.109) - "The scrape of a guitar pick on wire is pristinely captured as poems of love, family and spirituality unfold....It's actually quite remarkable."

CMJ (3/15/04, p.5) - "The title track and closer 'The Transfiguration' sprawl beautifully, rounding out the record with chants so emotionally gripping it's unholy....Stevens has crafted a heavenly record."

Mojo (Publisher) (p.105) - 3 stars out of 5 - "These are blissfully executed missives of faith and love - both spiritual and corporeal - anchored by Stevens' spartan banjo-led arrangements and a voice that's tremulous yet brave."

Customer Reviews