Sketches of Spain
by Miles Davis

  • $8.98
  • 20% off for Members: Get the Club Price
    $ 7.18
Add to Cart
+ Add to Wishlist
In Stock.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary


More About Sketches of Spain by Miles Davis

Track Listing

1 Concierto de Aranjuez
2 Will O' the Wisp
3 Pan Piper, The
4 Saeta
5 Solea
6 Song of Our Country - (Issued Take, bonus track)
7 Concierto de Aranjuez, Pt. 1 - (alternate take, bonus track)
8 Concierto de Aranjuez, Pt. 2 (Ending) - (alternate take, bonus track)

Featured Artists: Gil Evans and Johnny Coles and Jimmy Cleveland and Paul Chambers and Elvin Jones and Jimmy Cobb

Genre: Jazz Instrument
  • Genre: Jazz Music
  • Release Date: September 1997
  • Label: Columbia/Legacy
  • Format: CD
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Audio Format: Stereo
  • Producer: Irving Townsend; Phil Schaap; Teo Macero; Phil Schaap (Reissue)
  • Engineer: Fred Plaut; Tom "Curly" Ruff; Mark Wilder
Music Reviews

Editorial Reviews

Q (1/00, p.134) - 5 stars out of 5 - "...fierce Spanish folk melodies...took orchestral jazz in a new direction....features Davis' trumpet in all its drifting, dry, abstract beauty."

Down Beat (p.61) - 5 stars out of 5 -- "With SKETCHES OF SPAIN, Davis' music continued its modal moves away from bebop's busy density, opting to highlight his strengths, which emphasized feeling and lyric expression over technique."

Down Beat (1960) - 5 Stars - Excellent - "...One of the most important musical triumphs that this century has yet produced....If there is to be a new jazz, a SHAPE OF THINGS TO COME, then this is the beginning..."

Goldmine - 3.5 Stars - "...Brilliantly remixed..."

Record Collector (magazine) (p.98) - 5 stars out of 5 -- "Almost panoramic in scope and fusing jazz with classical music, the album kicked off with an epic 16-minute version of Spanish composer Rodrigo's guitar concerto, transcribed for trumpet and orchestra."

Customer Reviews