Songs of Leonard Cohen
by Leonard Cohen

In Stock Online.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary


More About Songs of Leonard Cohen by Leonard Cohen

Track Listing

1 Suzanne
2 Master Song
3 Winter Lady
4 Stranger Song, The
5 Sisters of Mercy
6 So Long, Marianne
7 Hey, That's No Way to Say Goodbye
8 Stories of the Street
9 Teachers
10 One of Us Cannot Be Wrong
11 Store Room - (previously unreleased, Bonus Tracks)
12 Blessed Is the Memory - (previously unreleased, Bonus Tracks)

Genre: Rock & Pop
  • Genre: Popular Music
  • Release Date: April 2007
  • Label: Sony Music Distribution (USA)
  • Format: CD
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Audio Format: Stereo
  • Producer: John F. Hammond; John Simon; John Hammond; Bruce Dickinson (Reissue)
Music Reviews

Editorial Reviews

Rolling Stone (p.78) - 4.5 stars out of 5 -- "[T]he tunes remain surefire four decades later....This is deep, witty and enduring stuff."

Spin (p.108) - "[S]tripped-down, world-weary folk songs....[They] still hold an uncanny attractiveness today."

Q (p.132) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "[T]he imagery woven through the likes of 'Sisters Of Mercy' proved that no one, not even Bob Dylan, had such a complete mastery of words."

Q (p.132) - 5 stars out of 5 - "[With] a dark wit and sophistication..."

Magnet (p.93) - "[T]he tentative, almost boyish softness of Cohen's first folksinging forays only underscores his grim lyrics."

Dirty Linen (p.43) - "[The] impeccable production put Cohen's melancholy , sensuous baritone at the forefront, with an impressive array of subtle instrumental embellishments lurking in the background."

No Depression (p.76) - "[The songs] have a timeless and ageless power, even when they're awash in '60s countercultural meaning."

Customer Reviews