Coupon
The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly
by Stephanie Oakes


Overview - A hard-hitting and hopeful story about the dangers of blind faith and the power of having faith in yourself.
Now a Morris Award finalist and Golden Kite Honor Book
The Kevinian cult has taken everything from seventeen-year-old Minnow: twelve years of her life, her family, her ability to trust.And when she rebelled, they took away her hands, too.
  Read more...

 
Hardcover
  • $17.99
  • Members Save 10% Club Price
    $ 16.19

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 5 copies from $13.46
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly by Stephanie Oakes
 
 
 
Overview
A hard-hitting and hopeful story about the dangers of blind faith and the power of having faith in yourself.
Now a Morris Award finalist and Golden Kite Honor Book
The Kevinian cult has taken everything from seventeen-year-old Minnow: twelve years of her life, her family, her ability to trust.And when she rebelled, they took away her hands, too.
Now their Prophet has been murdered and their camp set aflame, and it's clear that Minnow knows something but she's not talking. As she languishes in juvenile detention, she struggles to un-learn everything she has been taught to believe, adjusting to a life behind bars and recounting the events that led up to her incarceration. But when an FBI detective approaches her about making a deal, Minnow sees she can have the freedom she always dreamed of if she s willing to part with the terrible secrets of her past.
Gorgeously written, breathlessly page-turning and sprinkled with moments of unexpected humor, this harrowing debut isperfect for readers of Emily Murdoch's "If You Find Me"andNova Ren Suma's "The Walls Around Us," as well as for fans of Orange is the New Black."

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780803740709
  • ISBN-10: 0803740700
  • Publisher: Dial Books
  • Publish Date: June 2015
  • Page Count: 400
  • Reading Level: Ages 14-17


Related Categories

Books > Juvenile Fiction > Social Themes - Self-Esteem & Self-Reliance
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Social Themes - Physical & Emotional Abuse

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2015-04-27
  • Reviewer: Staff

A harrowing opening scene immerses readers in 17-year-old narrator Minnow’s trauma, as she responds to a perceived threat with astonishing brutality, while carrying the skeletal remains of her own amputated hands. Minnow was five when her parents followed Prophet Kevin into the wilderness to found a rustic commune of Kevinians, who worship the God Charlie and obey prophesies divinely dictated to Kevin, such as, “It is my Commandment that ye do again this task, with Minnow, daughter of Samuel, for she be in need of spiritual intervention of the kind that marriage provides.” The narrative weaves between the hellish prison of the past that Minnow longed to escape and the juvenile prison she enters, which becomes an unexpected haven where she learns to read, make friends, and “think about the universe, and the earth, and the stars.” As Minnow recounts both shocking cruelty and acts of kindness—most movingly from her one friend outside the commune, the boy she assaulted, and her “lifer” cellmate—suspense, dread, and hope intermingle in Oakes’s charged, page-turning debut. Ages 14–up. Agent: Jennifer Laughran, Andrea Brown Literary Agency. (June)’

 
BAM Customer Reviews