Coupon
Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat : Mastering the Elements of Good Cooking
by Samin Nosrat and Wendy Macnaughton


Overview - Now a Netflix series

New York Times Bestseller and Winner of the 2018 James Beard Award for Best General Cookbook and multiple ICAP Cookbook Awards

Named one of the Best Books of 2017 by: NPR, BuzzFeed, The Atlantic , The Washington Post , Chicago Tribune , Rachel Ray Every Day , San Francisco Chronicle , Vice Munchies, Elle.com, Glamour , Eater, Newsday, Minneapolis Star Tribune , The Seattle Times , Tampa Bay Times , Tasting Table, Modern Farmer , Publishers Weekly, and more.  Read more...


 
Hardcover
  • Retail Price: $35.00
  • $22.33
    (Save 36%)
Add to Cart
+ Add to Wishlist
In Stock.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 13 copies from $25.95
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat by Samin Nosrat; Wendy Macnaughton
 
 
 
Overview
Now a Netflix series

New York Times Bestseller and Winner of the 2018 James Beard Award for Best General Cookbook and multiple ICAP Cookbook Awards

Named one of the Best Books of 2017 by: NPR, BuzzFeed, The Atlantic, The Washington Post, Chicago Tribune, Rachel Ray Every Day, San Francisco Chronicle, Vice Munchies, Elle.com, Glamour, Eater, Newsday, Minneapolis Star Tribune, The Seattle Times, Tampa Bay Times, Tasting Table, Modern Farmer, Publishers Weekly, and more.

A visionary new master class in cooking that distills decades of professional experience into just four simple elements, from the woman declared "America's next great cooking teacher" by Alice Waters.

In the tradition of The Joy of Cooking and How to Cook Everything comes Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat, an ambitious new approach to cooking by a major new culinary voice. Chef and writer Samin Nosrat has taught everyone from professional chefs to middle school kids to author Michael Pollan to cook using her revolutionary, yet simple, philosophy. Master the use of just four elements--Salt, which enhances flavor; Fat, which delivers flavor and generates texture; Acid, which balances flavor; and Heat, which ultimately determines the texture of food--and anything you cook will be delicious. By explaining the hows and whys of good cooking, Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat will teach and inspire a new generation of cooks how to confidently make better decisions in the kitchen and cook delicious meals with any ingredients, anywhere, at any time.

Echoing Samin's own journey from culinary novice to award-winning chef, Salt, Fat Acid, Heat immediately bridges the gap between home and professional kitchens. With charming narrative, illustrated walkthroughs, and a lighthearted approach to kitchen science, Samin demystifies the four elements of good cooking for everyone. Refer to the canon of 100 essential recipes--and dozens of variations--to put the lessons into practice and make bright, balanced vinaigrettes, perfectly caramelized roast vegetables, tender braised meats, and light, flaky pastry doughs.

Featuring 150 illustrations and infographics that reveal an atlas to the world of flavor by renowned illustrator Wendy MacNaughton, Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat will be your compass in the kitchen. Destined to be a classic, it just might be the last cookbook you'll ever need.

With a foreword by Michael Pollan.

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9781476753836
  • ISBN-10: 1476753830
  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster
  • Publish Date: April 2017
  • Page Count: 480
  • Dimensions: 9.1 x 7.7 x 1.4 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 2.7 pounds


Related Categories

Books > Cooking > Methods - General
Books > Cooking > Specific Ingredients - General
Books > Cooking > Regional & Ethnic - General

 
BAM Customer Reviews