Coupon
Scarlett Epstein Hates It Here
by Anna Breslaw


Overview - Cross Veronica Mars with MTV's Daria, and you ll get Scarlett Epstein, the snarky, judgmental, and often hilarious star of Scarlett Epstein Hates It Here , a witty and heartwarming novel that s perfect for fans of David Arnold s Mosquitoland and Kody Keplinger s The Duff.  Read more...

 
Hardcover
  • $17.99

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock Online.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 49 copies from $2.99
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About Scarlett Epstein Hates It Here by Anna Breslaw
 
 
 
Overview
Cross Veronica Mars with MTV's Daria, and you ll get Scarlett Epstein, the snarky, judgmental, and often hilarious star ofScarlett Epstein Hates It Here, a witty and heartwarming novel that s perfect for fans of David Arnold sMosquitolandand Kody Keplinger sThe Duff.
"Absolutely delightful, the kind of book you'll be reading for an hour before you realize you've been grinning the whole time." Buzzfeed
"A sparkling, unabashedly feminist debut." Kirkus Reviews, Starred Review
"Rainbow Rowell s Fangirl meets Harriet the Spy in this coming-of-age tale filled with emotional resonance." TeenVogue.com
Meet Scarlett Epstein, BNF (Big Name Fan) in her online community of fanfiction writers, world-class nobody at Melville High. Her best (read: only) IRL friends are Avery, a painfully shy and annoyingly attractive bookworm, and Ruth, her pot-smoking, possibly insane seventy-three-year-old neighbor.
When Scarlett s beloved TV show is canceled and her longtime crush, Gideon, is sucked out of her orbit and into the dark and distant world of Populars, Scarlett turns to the fanfic message boards for comfort. This time, though, her subjects aren t the swoon-worthy stars of her fave series they re the real-life kids from her high school.Scarlett never considers what might happen if they were to find out what she truly thinks about them...until a dramatic series of events exposes a very different reality than Scarlett's stories, forever transforming her approach to relationships both online and off."

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9781595148353
  • ISBN-10: 1595148353
  • Publisher: Razorbill
  • Publish Date: April 2016
  • Page Count: 288
  • Reading Level: Ages 13-17
  • Dimensions: 8.5 x 5.8 x 1.1 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.9 pounds


Related Categories

Books > > Humorous - General

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2016-05-02
  • Reviewer: Staff

After Scarlett's favorite TV show, Lycanthrope High, is canceled, the 15-year-old, who is deeply involved in an online fan-fiction community for the series, navigates her frustrations and real-life woes by creating a new spin-off story. She casts her nemesis, Ashley, as a robot drone and her crush, Gideon, as her love interest. Inevitably, worlds collide when Scarlett's fan fiction gets leaked, and she has to face up to reality. Scarlett's voice is smart and witty, laced with snarky pop-culture references and crackling one-liners à la Gilmore Girls ("Even after nine years of torture, though, Ashley's prettiness still stuns me like a manta ray... as if God designed her to provide a believable photo for catfishing people"). Like her beloved Lycanthrope High, Scarlett's story features a "diverse cast of wisecracking misfits" (Scarlett herself has a Jewish and Mexican background), respects its teenage audience, and perhaps cuts off too soon. As in Rainbow Rowell's Fangirl, excerpts from Scarlett's fan fiction appear throughout, further highlighting the sharp-edged humor and questionable decision-making that make her such an entertaining narrator. Ages 12–up. Agent: Tina Wexler, ICM. (Apr.)

 
BAM Customer Reviews