Coupon
In Search of Mockingbird
by Loretta Ellsworth


Overview -

A runaway seeks Harper Lee for answers

Sometimes the things that need to be discovered aren't so easily found at home. Erin is certain that this is true in her case. A book is all that connects Erin to her mother, who died when she was a baby. But how much can Erin really learn about her mother from a tattered copy of To Kill a Mockingbird?  Read more...


 
In Stock Online.

Free Shipping is not available for this item.
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 11 copies from $2.99
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About In Search of Mockingbird by Loretta Ellsworth
 
 
 
Overview

A runaway seeks Harper Lee for answers

Sometimes the things that need to be discovered aren't so easily found at home. Erin is certain that this is true in her case. A book is all that connects Erin to her mother, who died when she was a baby. But how much can Erin really learn about her mother from a tattered copy of To Kill a Mockingbird? On the eve of her sixteenth birthday, Erin decides it's finally time to find out. And so begins her bus journey from Minnesota to Alabama in search of Harper Lee, the reclusive author of "To Kill a Mockingbird."

In a novel full of quirky characters, strange coincidences, and on-the-road adventures, "In Search of Mockingbird "by Loretta Ellsworth deftly traces a unique voyage of self-discovery, perfect for fans of "To Kill a Mockingbird "and "Go Set a Watchman."

Light, contemporary quest story . . . Suggest this as a follow-up to Lee's classic novel. "Booklist"

Erin's journey of self-discovery gives her the courage to confront her own failings and the maturity to accept her father's plans to marry. . . . Readers will root for her while reaching for a copy of "To Kill a Mockingbird." "Publishers Weekly"

"Ellsworth makes Erin's unlikely coming-of-age trip convincing. Designed to look like an old journal, the story's searching-for-mother theme should make it especially appealing to older fans of Kate DiCamillo's "Because of Winn Dixie" (2000) and Phyllis Reynolds Naylor's Alice Books. An engaging road trip." "-Kirkus Reviews""

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9781250082206
  • ISBN-10: 125008220X
  • Publisher: Square Fish
  • Publish Date: July 2015
  • Page Count: 192
  • Reading Level: Ages 10-14
  • Dimensions: 7.7 x 5.2 x 0.5 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.3 pounds


Related Categories

Books > Juvenile Fiction > Historical - United States - 20th Century
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Girls & Women
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Family - Parents

 
BAM Customer Reviews