Coupon
Secret Pizza Party
by Adam Rubin and Daniel Salmieri


Overview - Shhhh Don't tell anyone about this mouth-wateringbook from the New York Times bestselling creators of Dragons Love Tacos and Robo-Sauce
How does Racoon love pizza? Oh, let him count the ways. He loves the gooey cheesy-ness, salty pepperoni-ness, sweet sweet tomato-ness, and of course the crispity crunchity crust.
  Read more...

 
Hardcover
  • $17.99

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 25 copies from $9.37
 
 
 

More About Secret Pizza Party by Adam Rubin; Daniel Salmieri
 
 
 
Overview
Shhhh Don't tell anyone about this mouth-wateringbook from the New York Times bestselling creators of Dragons Love Tacos and Robo-Sauce
How does Racoon love pizza? Oh, let him count the ways. He loves the gooey cheesy-ness, salty pepperoni-ness, sweet sweet tomato-ness, and of course the crispity crunchity crust. But someone is always chasing poor Raccoon away from his favorite food with a broom What's a hungry raccoon to do? Plan an elaborate secret pizza party, of course
But shhh It s a secret In fact, you should probably just forget I told you. Nope, no secret pizza party happening here.You didn t already tell all your friends, did you? Uh oh . . .
Fans of Jon Klassen and Mo Willems's humor will gobble up this quirky ode to the lengths we will go to for our heart's desire.
Praise for Dragons Love Tacos
New York Times bestseller
A New York Times Notable Children's Book of 2012
"Rubin and Salmieri are two of the weirdest, funniest guys working in kids lit today. The team lets its geek flag fly in an obsessive how-to guide for would-be dragon taco party hosts. Why a taco party? As Rubin explains, 'The only things dragons love more than parties or tacos, is taco parties.' If further proof is required, Salmieri whose poker-faced watercolor, gouache, and color pencil drawings set a benchmark for oddball observational humor shows one odd, scaly creature with a carryout bag from 'Taco Cave' and another beaming with anticipation as it eagerly circles the date for a taco party on its taco-themed calendar. But beware: even if all the tips and rules are followed to the letter (on quantity: 'The best way to judge is to get a boat and fill the boat with tacos'), all will be for naught if spicy salsa makes its way into the taco filling. In fact, the dragons will bring a whole new meaning to 'housewarming.' Off-kilter fun for those who like their picture books (and salsa) zesty and fresh." Publishers Weekly, starred review
"Dragons Love Tacos is a heaping helping of silly. Little kids will relate to the anti-spicy bias and chuckle over Salmieri's watercolor and gouache cartoon illustrations showing literally boatloads of tacos and all sizes of dragons enjoying their favorite food at pool parties, costume parties and, well, tacoparties." San Francisco Chronicle
"The perfect book for kids who love dragons and mild tacos." Kirkus Reviews
"The watercolor, gouache, and colored pencil cartoon illustrations are the real stars here. Regardless of, or perhaps because of, the absurdity of the story, this tale should be a big hit with anyone with an affinity for dragons." School Library Journal"

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780803739475
  • ISBN-10: 0803739478
  • Publisher: Dial Books
  • Publish Date: September 2013
  • Page Count: 40
  • Reading Level: Ages 3-7


Related Categories

Books > Juvenile Fiction > Animals - Nocturnal
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Humorous Stories
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Cooking & Food

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2013-06-10
  • Reviewer: Staff

“Poor Raccoon. All he wants in life is some pizza.” And who can blame him? Pizza is its own breed of perfect: “So beautiful, you could hang it on the wall of a museum,” (Salmieri mounts a slice between a Picasso and a Matisse). “So convenient, you could eat it in the bathtub.” The narrator—who is undoubtedly related to the same skewed logician who explained the dragon-taco connection in Dragons Love Tacos—decides that what Raccoon needs is a secret pizza party: “So folks don’t show up to bonk you with brooms” (something that happens to him with alarming regularity) and because “When you make something secret, you make it special.” There’s just one catch: Raccoon has to get the pizza, and he’s a wanted pizza thief. Although not up to the silly sublimity of their previous efforts—the pacing is a bit slack, and the ending slapdash—Rubin and Salmieri still score plenty of comic points with their deadpan riffs, offbeat asides, and singleminded hero who can’t catch a gooey, cheesy break. Ages 3–5. Agent: Rebecca Sherman, Writers House. (Sept.)

 
BAM Customer Reviews