Coupon
Selfish, Shallow, and Self-Absorbed : Sixteen Writers on the Decision Not to Have Kids
by Meghan Daum


Overview -

One of the main topics of cultural conversation during the last decade was the supposed "fertility crisis," and whether modern women could figure out a way to way to have it all-a successful, demanding career and the required 2.3 children-before their biological clock stopped ticking.  Read more...


 
Hardcover
  • $26.00
Sorry: This item is not currently available.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 36 copies from $3.99
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About Selfish, Shallow, and Self-Absorbed by Meghan Daum
 
 
 
Overview

One of the main topics of cultural conversation during the last decade was the supposed "fertility crisis," and whether modern women could figure out a way to way to have it all-a successful, demanding career and the required 2.3 children-before their biological clock stopped ticking. Now, however, conversation has turned to whether it's necessary to have it all (see Anne-Marie Slaughter) or, perhaps more controversial, whether children are really a requirement for a fulfilling life. The idea that some women and men prefer not to have children is often met with sharp criticism and incredulity by the public and mainstream media.

In this provocative and controversial collection of essays, curated by writer Meghan Daum, thirteen acclaimed female writers explain why they have chosen to eschew motherhood. Contributors include Lionel Shriver, Sigrid Nunez, Kate Christensen, Elliott Holt, Geoff Dyer, and Tim Kreider, among others, who will give a unique perspective on the overwhelming cultural pressure of parenthood.

This collection makes a smart and passionate case for why parenthood is not the only path to a happy, productive life, and takes our parent-centric, kid-fixated, baby-bump-patrolling culture to task in the process. In this book, that shadowy faction known as the childless-by-choice comes out into the light.

For readers of Brigid Schulte and Debora Spar

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9781250052933
  • ISBN-10: 1250052939
  • Publisher: Picador USA
  • Publish Date: March 2015
  • Page Count: 282
  • Dimensions: 1.5 x 5.75 x 8.75 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.8 pounds


Related Categories

Books > Philosophy > Mind & Body
Books > Family & Relationships > General

 
BAM Customer Reviews