Coupon
Shadow War
by Sean McFate and Bret Witter


Overview -

An army veteran with deep expertise in military and international affairs makes his fiction debut with this electrifying international thriller the first volume in a blistering hot series in the tradition of Brad Thor, Tom Clancy, and Daniel Silva.  Read more...


 
Hardcover
  • $25.99
  • 10% Off For Members: Get the Club Price
    $ 23.39

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock Online.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About Shadow War by Sean McFate; Bret Witter
 
 
 
Overview

An army veteran with deep expertise in military and international affairs makes his fiction debut with this electrifying international thriller the first volume in a blistering hot series in the tradition of Brad Thor, Tom Clancy, and Daniel Silva. In Shadow War, an elite American mercenary on a secret mission to save a businessman s family in Eastern Europe must navigate perilous setbacks and deadly enemies that threaten to tip the balance of power between Russia and the United States.

Tom Locke is an elite warrior working for Apollo Outcomes, one of the world s most successful private contracting firms. Pulled out of a mission in Libya, he is tapped for an unusual and risky assignment: a top secret black op in Ukraine. He is given one week to rescue an oligarch s family and pull off a spectacular assault that could have long-lasting repercussions for this imperiled Eastern European nation and the world.

What Locke doesn t know is that the operation comes with a dangerous complication: Brad Winters. Locke s ambitious and enigmatic boss is engaged in a secretive, high-stakes geopolitical chess game with several influential powerbrokers in capitals around the world. One misstep could cost him and Locke everything.

While Locke has methodically planned the mission and hand-picked a team of trusted operatives to pull it off and save his ass if things go south he doesn t count on running into a former love, war correspondent Alie MacFarlane, who impulsively makes a move that risks both their lives. Locke is an intelligent, iconoclastic soldier who specializes in pulling off the impossible. But all his brilliant preparation can t prevent the kind of backstabbing and deception that could lead to catastrophe . . . and tip the balance of power toward Putin s Russia.

"

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780062403704
  • ISBN-10: 0062403702
  • Publisher: William Morrow & Company
  • Publish Date: May 2016
  • Page Count: 368

Series: Tom Locke

Related Categories

Books > Fiction > Thrillers - Military
Books > Fiction > War & Military
Books > Fiction > Action & Adventure

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2016-03-07
  • Reviewer: Staff

At the start of army veteran McFate’s smart, exciting first novel and series launch—written with Witter (The Monuments Men, with Robert M. Edsel)—mercenary Tom Locke and his team rendezvous in the Libyan desert with a tribe of Tuareg who have two trucks full of antiaircraft missiles and other valuable weapons to sell. When bandits suddenly attack, the resourceful Locke prevails in the ensuing firefight. Back in Washington, D.C., Locke’s boss at security giant Apollo Outcomes gives him an assignment in the Ukraine, where he’s to craft a newsworthy military victory for an Apollo client, oligarch and parliamentarian Kostyantyn Karpenko. Locke knows the Russians in Ukraine will try to stop him, and the time frame is only five days, but this is the sort of mission impossible that he loves. Locke’s careful planning and the resulting battles combine to elevate this book well above the standard military thriller. Readers will look forward to seeing a lot more of Locke. Agent: Peter McGuigan, Foundry Literary + Media. (May)

 
BAM Customer Reviews