Coupon
Shadows Over Paradise
by Isabel Wolff


Overview - For readers of Kate Morton and Jamie Ford comes a captivating novel of two very different women, struggling to come to terms with the ghosts from their past--by the internationally bestselling author of A Vintage Affair and The Very Picture of You

Sometimes the only way forward is through the past.
  Read more...

 
Paperback
  • $15.00
  • 20% off for Members: Get the Club Price
    $ 12.00
Add to Cart
+ Add to Wishlist
In Stock.

This item is Non-Returnable.
FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 31 copies from $2.99
 
 
 

More About Shadows Over Paradise by Isabel Wolff
 
 
 
Overview
For readers of Kate Morton and Jamie Ford comes a captivating novel of two very different women, struggling to come to terms with the ghosts from their past--by the internationally bestselling author of A Vintage Affair and The Very Picture of You

Sometimes the only way forward is through the past.

Jenni Clark is a ghostwriter. She loves to immerse herself in other people's stories--a respite from her own life, and from a relationship that appears to be nearing its end. Jenni's latest assignment takes her to a coastal hamlet in England, where she's agreed to pen the memoir of an elderly farm owner named Klara. Jenni assumes the project will be easy: a quiet, ordinary tale of a life well lived.

But Klara's story is far from quiet. She recounts the tale of a family torn apart by World War II, and of disgraceful acts committed against a community in the Japanese prison camps on the Pacific island paradise of Java. As harrowing details emerge and stunning truths come to light, Jenni is compelled to confront a secret she's spent a lifetime burying.

Weaving together the lives of two very different women, Isabel Wolff has created a captivating novel of love, loss, and hope that reaches across generations.

Praise for Shadows Over Paradise

"An excellent choice for fans of Sarah Jio and Kate Morton."--Booklist

"Shifting focus from the present to the past with ease, this novel brings to the page the reality of the horrors of the Japanese-run internment camps in vivid and gory detail. Wolff's latest will please fans of women's stories that include a realistic depiction of life during wartime and the ability to overcome adversity."--Library Journal

"Beautifully written . . . an outstanding book club selection . . . If you liked Jamie Ford's novels then] you'll like Shadows Over Paradise."--Huntington News

Praise for Isabel Wolff

"With a wide cast of realistic, wonderfully drawn characters, a deft blending of the past with the present, and a seemingly effortless managing of several plots at once, this charming novel . . . deserves a place in all popular fiction collections."--Library Journal (starred review), on A Vintage Affair

"Captivating, seductive . . . This novel reflects how beauty exists in all facets of life, especially in people."--RT Book Reviews, on The Very Picture of You


This item is Non-Returnable.

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780345533180
  • ISBN-10: 0345533186
  • Publisher: Bantam
  • Publish Date: February 2015
  • Page Count: 384
  • Dimensions: 8.2 x 5.1 x 0.8 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.5 pounds


Related Categories

Books > Fiction > Women
Books > Fiction > Historical - General
Books > Fiction > Literary

 
BAM Customer Reviews