Coupon
Shadows and Strongholds
by Elizabeth Chadwick


Overview -

Superb writing, phenomenal storytelling, breathtaking detail, sparkling characterization, a moving tale of love and tragedy with plenty of wit and humor thrown in."--Bookfoolery

Written with vivid detail and great historical accuracy, Shadows and Strongholds is a captivating historical novel of Medieval England.  Read more...


 
Paperback
  • $14.99
  • 20% off for Members: Get the Club Price
    $ 11.99

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

Limited Availability. Allow Additional 2-4 Weeks for Shipping.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 21 copies from $2.99
 
eBook
Retail Price: $14.99
$9.89

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 

More About Shadows and Strongholds by Elizabeth Chadwick
 
 
 
Overview

Superb writing, phenomenal storytelling, breathtaking detail, sparkling characterization, a moving tale of love and tragedy with plenty of wit and humor thrown in."--Bookfoolery

Written with vivid detail and great historical accuracy, Shadows and Strongholds is a captivating historical novel of Medieval England. Fans of Philippa Gregory, Alison Weir, Sharon Kay Penman, and Bernard Cornwall will be hooked on this well-crafted medieval tale of pride, loyalty, and conflict as one man fights the shadows of his past and his future.

The one thing Brunin Fitzwarin knows best is nothing worthwhile is easy--especially not becoming a knight. But nothing will be more challenging than the past he's struggling to leave behind.

Sent away by his father, Brunin is now a knight-in-training to the Lord of Ludlow--and still utterly alone. That is, until the youngest daughter of the house, Hawise, befriends him.

With England in turmoil, Brunin must fight with his lord to support King Stephen for the English crown. As the war rages on and hits particularly close to home, Brunin must defeat the shadows of his childhood and take on the mantle of knight, confronting the future head on.

More Medieval Historical Fiction Titles from Elizabeth Chadwick:
Lady of the English
The Greatest Knight
The Summer Queen

What reviewers are saying about Shadows and Strongholds

"Romance, history, and action all rolled into one delicious ball."--NetGalley Review

"An exquisitely written, compelling tale--a keeper to be enjoyed more than one time."--Long and Short Reviews

What people are saying about bestselling author Elizabeth Chadwick

"A star back in Britain, Elizabeth Chadwick is finally getting the attention she deserves here." - USA Today

"Elizabeth Chadwick is to Medieval England what Philippa Gregory is to the Tudors and the Stuarts, and Bernard Cornwall to the Dark Ages."--Books Monthly, UK

"The best writer of medieval fiction currently around." --Historical Novels Review

" Chadwick] makes the time period come alive for the reader, utilizing small historical details in order to really set each scene."--S. Krishna's Books

"Chadwick is an icon for the historical fiction community for her ability to create a believable and passionate story based around major events of the era."--The Burton Review

"Breathing life into historical personages is hallmark Chadwick."--RT Book Reviews

"Picking up an Elizabeth Chadwick novel is like having a Bentley draw up at your door: you know you are in for a sumptuous ride." -Daily Telegraph


 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9781402274596
  • ISBN-10: 1402274599
  • Publisher: Sourcebooks Landmark
  • Publish Date: March 2013
  • Page Count: 533
  • Dimensions: 7.9 x 5.2 x 1.3 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.25 pounds


Related Categories

Books > Fiction > Historical - General
Books > Fiction > Literary
Books > Fiction > Biographical

 
BAM Customer Reviews