Coupon
A Simple Favor
by Darcey Bell


Overview -

"Riveting and brilliantly structured, A Simple Favor is an edge-of-your seat domestic thriller about a missing wife and mother that relies on a rotating cast of unreliable narrators to ingeniously examine the cost of competitive mom-friends, the toll of ordinary marital discontent and the fallacy of the picture-perfect, suburban family."--Kimberly McCreight, New York Times bestselling author

She's your best friend.  Read more...


 
Hardcover
  • Retail Price: $25.99
  • $20.27
    (Save 22%)

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock Online.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 50 copies from $8.40
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About A Simple Favor by Darcey Bell
 
 
 
Overview

"Riveting and brilliantly structured, A Simple Favor is an edge-of-your seat domestic thriller about a missing wife and mother that relies on a rotating cast of unreliable narrators to ingeniously examine the cost of competitive mom-friends, the toll of ordinary marital discontent and the fallacy of the picture-perfect, suburban family."--Kimberly McCreight, New York Times bestselling author

She's your best friend.

She knows all your secrets.

That's why she's so dangerous.

A single mother's life is turned upside down when her best friend vanishes in this chilling debut thriller in the vein of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train.

It starts with a simple favor--an ordinary kindness mothers do for one another. When her best friend, Emily, asks Stephanie to pick up her son Nicky after school, she happily says yes. Nicky and her son, Miles, are classmates and best friends, and the five-year-olds love being together--just like she and Emily. A widow and stay-at-home mommy blogger living in woodsy suburban Connecticut, Stephanie was lonely until she met Emily, a sophisticated PR executive whose job in Manhattan demands so much of her time.

But Emily doesn't come back. She doesn't answer calls or return texts. Stephanie knows something is terribly wrong--Emily would never leave Nicky, no matter what the police say. Terrified, she reaches out to her blog readers for help. She also reaches out to Emily's husband, the handsome, reticent Sean, offering emotional support. It's the least she can do for her best friend. Then, she and Sean receive shocking news. Emily is dead. The nightmare of her disappearance is over.

Or is it? Because soon, Stephanie will begin to see that nothing--not friendship, love, or even an ordinary favor--is as simple as it seems.

A Simple Favor is a remarkable tale of psychological suspense--a clever and twisting free-fall of a ride filled with betrayals and reversals, twists and turns, secrets and revelations, love and loyalty, murder and revenge. Darcey Bell masterfully ratchets up the tension in a taut, unsettling, and completely absorbing story that holds you in its grip until the final page.


 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780062497772
  • ISBN-10: 0062497774
  • Publisher: Harper
  • Publish Date: March 2017
  • Page Count: 304
  • Dimensions: 9.1 x 5.8 x 1.2 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.1 pounds


Related Categories

Books > Fiction > Thrillers - Psychological
Books > Fiction > Thrillers - Suspense

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2017-01-09
  • Reviewer: Staff

In Bells convoluted debut, widowed mommy-blogger Stephanie Ward receives a call from her best friend, Emily Nelson, asking her to pick up Emilys five-year-old son, Nicky, from school. Theres an emergency at work, Emily explains, but shell be by to get Nicky no later than 9 p.m. Nicky is best friends with Stephanies son, Miles, and the boys attend the same suburban Connecticut kindergarten, so Stephanie agrees. Days pass and Emily never appears, leading Stephanie to fear the worst. Emilys husband, Sean, returns home from his European business trip and calls the police, who assume that Emily has simply run awayuntil her body washes up at her familys lake house in Michigan. Stephanie initially seeks to comfort Sean, but when questions arise surrounding Emilys death, shes left wondering what is true and whom to trust. While Stephanie, Emily, and Sean share the narrative, Stephanie is the primary point-of-view character, and her vacuity and naïveté undercut the storys tension and heft. Bell further squanders an intriguing setup with ill-defined stakes and tired, telegraphed plot twists. Agent: Denise Shannon, Denise Shannon Literary Agency. (Mar.)

 
BAM Customer Reviews