A Simple Favor
by Darcey Bell


Overview -

Soon to be a major motion picture from Lionsgate starring Anna Kendrick, Blake Lively and Henry Golding, and directed by Paul Feig

"Riveting and brilliantly structured, A Simple Favor is an edge-of-your seat domestic thriller about a missing wife and mother that relies on a rotating cast of unreliable narrators to ingeniously examine the cost of competitive mom-friends, the toll of ordinary marital discontent and the fallacy of the picture-perfect, suburban family."--Kimberly McCreight, New York Times bestselling author

She's your best friend.  Read more...


 
In Stock.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 21 copies from $7.99
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About A Simple Favor by Darcey Bell
 
 
 
Overview

Soon to be a major motion picture from Lionsgate starring Anna Kendrick, Blake Lively and Henry Golding, and directed by Paul Feig

"Riveting and brilliantly structured, A Simple Favor is an edge-of-your seat domestic thriller about a missing wife and mother that relies on a rotating cast of unreliable narrators to ingeniously examine the cost of competitive mom-friends, the toll of ordinary marital discontent and the fallacy of the picture-perfect, suburban family."--Kimberly McCreight, New York Times bestselling author

She's your best friend.

She knows all your secrets.

That's why she's so dangerous.

A single mother's life is turned upside down when her best friend vanishes in this chilling debut thriller in the vein of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train.

It starts with a simple favor--an ordinary kindness mothers do for one another. When her best friend, Emily, asks Stephanie to pick up her son Nicky after school, she happily says yes. Nicky and her son, Miles, are classmates and best friends, and the five-year-olds love being together--just like she and Emily. A widow and stay-at-home mommy blogger living in woodsy suburban Connecticut, Stephanie was lonely until she met Emily, a sophisticated PR executive whose job in Manhattan demands so much of her time.

But Emily doesn't come back. She doesn't answer calls or return texts. Stephanie knows something is terribly wrong--Emily would never leave Nicky, no matter what the police say. Terrified, she reaches out to her blog readers for help. She also reaches out to Emily's husband, the handsome, reticent Sean, offering emotional support. It's the least she can do for her best friend. Then, she and Sean receive shocking news. Emily is dead. The nightmare of her disappearance is over.

Or is it? Because soon, Stephanie will begin to see that nothing--not friendship, love, or even an ordinary favor--is as simple as it seems.

A Simple Favor is a remarkable tale of psychological suspense--a clever and twisting free-fall of a ride filled with betrayals and reversals, twists and turns, secrets and revelations, love and loyalty, murder and revenge. Darcey Bell masterfully ratchets up the tension in a taut, unsettling, and completely absorbing story that holds you in its grip until the final page.


 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780062497789
  • ISBN-10: 0062497782
  • Publisher: Harper Paperbacks
  • Publish Date: March 2018
  • Page Count: 304
  • Dimensions: 7.9 x 5.4 x 0.8 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.45 pounds


Related Categories

Books > Fiction > Thrillers - Suspense
Books > Fiction > Thrillers - Psychological
Books > Fiction > Thrillers - Domestic

 
BAM Customer Reviews