Coupon
The Sisters
by Nancy Jensen


Overview - In the tradition of Marilynne Robinson's "Housekeeping" and Elizabeth Strout's "Olive Kitteridge" comes a dazzling debut novel about the family bonds that remain even when they seem irretrievably torn apart. 336 pp. 75,000 print.  Read more...

 
Bargain - Hardcover
  • Retail Price: $24.99
  • $4.97
    (Save 80%)

Sorry: This item is not currently available.

FREE Shipping for Club Members

What is a Bargain?
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
 
 
 

Customers Also Bought

Products
More About The Sisters by Nancy Jensen
 
 
 
Overview

In the tradition of Marilynne Robinson's "Housekeeping" and Elizabeth Strout's "Olive Kitteridge" comes a dazzling debut novel about the family bonds that remain even when they seem irretrievably torn apart. 336 pp. 75,000 print.

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780312542702
  • ISBN-10: 0312542704
  • Publisher: St. Martin's Press
  • Publish Date: November 2011
  • Page Count: 324

Related Categories

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2011-09-05
  • Reviewer: Staff

First-time novelist Jensen redeems her soap opera plot—tracing the lives of two sisters separated in their youth by a tragic misunderstanding—with an observant eye, adept characterization, and a keen grasp of social issues. When 19-year-old Mabel Fischer realizes that their predatory stepfather, who has repeatedly raped and humiliated her, has designs on her younger sister, Bertie, she escapes smalltown Juniper, Ky., in 1927, with Bertie in tow. The escape plan goes awry, sundering the sisters’ lives and leaving Bertie with what seems like a double betrayal. Bertie marries, but her union is marred by bitterness and the coldness she shows to her two daughters. And Mabel, who doesn’t marry, kidnaps and keeps a child who has been sexually abused. In alternating chapters, Jensen chronicles the difficult, often traumatic lives of four generations of women who descend from the Fischer sisters. There’s plenty of drama, much of it illuminating the changing roles of women in society over a span of 70 years. Jensen nicely integrates history and themes such as the enduring ravages of war on men who fight. While the legacy of Mabel’s courageous sacrifice and Bertie’s barely suppressed anger is “a map of sadness and loss,” it’s brightened by their resilience and the promise seen in the youngest members of the family. (Nov. 8)

 
BookPage Reviews

Bonds of sisterhood span decades

It’s amazing how one mistake, one mistimed incident, can affect a family for decades. Mabel and Alberta (Bertie) Fischer, the protagonists of Nancy Jensen’s heartbreaking debut novel, The Sisters, are teenagers from Juniper, Kentucky. Their father died in World War I, when they were too young to really know him, and their mother marries a man so villainous that he borders on caricature. When the mother dies, the girls are left defenseless. Mabel has a plan, but that plan goes very wrong and results in generations of wounded women.

Jensen, whose novel was inspired by a rift in her own family that no one ever knew the cause of, helpfully provides a genealogical chart at the beginning of her book, and it’s sometimes needed. Yet she’s such an accomplished writer that she gives each character her own drama, and her own pain. There’s Mabel and Bertie, the recipients of the original wound. Mabel triumphs over disaster to become a renowned photographer, while Bertie marries a man she respects but never quite comes to love, though their marriage is successful and lasts for decades. As the mother of Alma and Rainey, Bertie is often withholding; the reader feels her view of life is to muddle through and endure it. Mabel rescues a little girl from the same sort of monstrous home life she suffered, then raises her, with great love, as her own daughter.

The story of the Fischer sisters is a woman’s story. The men are tangential, save Hans, Bertie’s steadfast husband. Bertie and Hans remind the reader—who may be more used to tales of breathless passion—that a couple can quietly abide together out of goodwill and the tasks of raising a family and running a home. The other Fischer women tend not to be as fortunate.

While Jensen’s men aren’t as richly drawn as her female characters, they too are pulled, without their knowledge, into the Fischer women’s trauma. Would these women have married the men they married, or not married the men they didn’t marry, had the thing that happened when Mabel and Bertie were girls been avoided? It’s no surprise that Rainey’s eccentric daughter Grace makes chain-link armor. Jensen’s book deftly explores both the armor and the links that went into creating and sustaining the wounded Fischers.

 
Customer Reviews