Coupon
Six Feet Over It
by Jennifer Longo


Overview - This unforgettable new voice in contemporary YA is perfect for fans of John Green, Libba Bray, and Jennifer Niven.

-Like nothing you've read before.- --Bustle.com

-Darkly funny and deeply moving.
  Read more...

 
Hardcover
  • $17.99

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock Online.

Free Shipping is not available for this item.
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 26 copies from $2.99
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About Six Feet Over It by Jennifer Longo
 
 
 
Overview
This unforgettable new voice in contemporary YA is perfect for fans of John Green, Libba Bray, and Jennifer Niven.

-Like nothing you've read before.- --Bustle.com

-Darkly funny and deeply moving. An original, memorable voice.- --Jennifer L. Holm, New York Times bestselling author

-A wildly funny coming-of-age story about life, love, death, and everything in between.- --Sarah McCarry, author of All Our Pretty Songs

-Terrific. Longo had me at 'graveyard' and then dug me in deeper with wit, dark humor, and splendid characters.- --Lisa Brown, New York Times bestselling author

No one is more surprised than Leigh when her father buys a graveyard. Less shocking is the fact that he's too lazy to look farther than the dinner table for employees. Working the literal graveyard shift, she becomes great at predicting headstone choice (mostly granite) and taking notes with one hand while offering Kleenex with the other.
Sarcastic and smart, Leigh should be able to quit this stupid after-school job. But her world's been turned upside down by the sudden loss of her best friend and the appearance of Dario, the slightly-too-old-for-her gravedigger. Can Leigh move on, if moving on means it's time to get a life?
Darkly humorous and heart-wrenchingly beautiful, Jennifer Longo's YA debut about a girl surrounded by death will change the way you look at friendship, love, and life.
More Praise for Six Feet Over It

A VOYA Perfect Tens 2014 Pick

An Indies Introduce New Voices Pick

-Equal parts poignant and humorous. . . . Superb.- --Kirkus Reviews, Starred

-A vibrant voice. . . . Readers will rejoice.- --The Bulletin, Starred

-A unique book for unique teens.- --Booklist

-A strong heroine, multicultural cast, and eclectic contemporary setting make Longo's story stand out.- --Publishers Weekly

-Stands out for its unusual setting and also the sarcasm and caustic humor of its protagonist.- --The Horn Book Review

-Hilarious, clever, and poignant.- --SLJ

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780449818718
  • ISBN-10: 0449818713
  • Publisher: Random House Books for Young Readers
  • Publish Date: August 2014
  • Page Count: 341
  • Reading Level: Ages 12-UP
  • Dimensions: 8.7 x 6 x 1.3 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1 pounds


Related Categories

Books > > Family - General (see also headings under Social Themes)
Books > > Social Themes - Death & Dying
Books > > Social Themes - Friendship

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2014-09-08
  • Reviewer: Staff

In a mordantly comedic coming-of-age story, 15-year-old Leigh believes she's the "patron saint of death." Not only did Leigh's parents move the family away from the California coast to operate a graveyard, but her sister has leukemia, her best friend Emily was killed by a falling tree, and death seems to be everywhere Leigh turns (she works selling gravesites to mourners). Yet after meeting a young Mexican gravedigger named Dario, Leigh's life at the cemetery starts looking up; the quirky graveyard regulars begin to grow on her, and she makes a new friend who reminds her of Emily. Debut author Longo provides Leigh with an offbeat, sarcastic worldview, revealed through Leigh's chatty running commentary about the people and events around her. Leigh's expressive inner monologues and witty observations about life and death vacillate from cynical and disassociated to deeply emotional: "I am the last person to hold her," Leigh muses as she buries a newborn baby. A strong heroine, multicultural cast, and eclectic contemporary setting make Longo's story stand out. Ages 12–up. Agent: Melissa Sarver, Folio Literary Management. (Aug.)

 
BookPage Reviews

Home sweet . . . cemetery?

After her father buys a cemetery and relocates their family inland from their idyllic California seaside home, 15-year-old Leigh finds not only that she’s a good fit for the after-death industry, but also that it gives her some comfort. Her older sister’s cancer just went into remission, her artistic mother would rather be back by the ocean, and Leigh’s still grieving for the best friend she recently lost. When Leigh discovers a secret in the cemetery, her grief turns to guilt. She refuses to take on any new friends, not even the cool home-schooled girl whose family provides flowers for the cemetery.

Author Jennifer Longo, who, like Leigh, sold burial plots after her father bought a cemetery, infuses her quirky debut with dark humor and a touch of magical thinking. While Leigh’s family members spin in their own set of problems, there is one person who understands her: Dario, the gravedigger who recently crossed the Mexican border. Through their tender, realistic friendship, Leigh learns the different ways Mexicans honor their departed. With help, she may find a way to let death go and life in.

 

This article was originally published in the September 2014 issue of BookPage. Download the entire issue for the Kindle or Nook.

 
BAM Customer Reviews