Coupon
Slasher Girls & Monster Boys
by April Genevieve Tucholke


Overview - For fans of Stephen King, Neil Gaiman, American Horror Story and The Walking Dead comes a powerhouse anthology featuring some of the best thriller and horror writers in YA
A host of the sharpest young adult authors come together in this collection of terrifying tales and psychological thrillers.
  Read more...

 
Hardcover
  • $17.99

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About Slasher Girls & Monster Boys by April Genevieve Tucholke
 
 
 
Overview
For fans of Stephen King, Neil Gaiman, American Horror Storyand The Walking Deadcomes a powerhouse anthology featuring some of the best thriller and horror writers in YA
A host of the sharpest young adult authors come together in this collection of terrifying tales and psychological thrillers. Each author draws from a mix of literature, film, television, and music to create something new and fresh and unsettling. Clever readers will love teasing out the references and can satisfy their curiosity at the end of each tale, where the inspiration is revealed. There are no superficial scares here; these are stories that will make you think even as they keep you on the edge of your seat. From blood horror, to the supernatural, to unsettling, all-too-possible realism, this collection has something for anyone looking for an absolute thrill.
Stefan Bachmann
Leigh Bardugo
Kendare Blake
A. G. Howard
Jay Kristoff
Marie Lu
Jonathan Maberry
Danielle Paige
Carrie Ryan
Megan Shepherd
Nova Ren Suma
McCormick Templeman
April Genevieve Tucholke
Cat Winters"

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780803741737
  • ISBN-10: 0803741731
  • Publisher: Dial Books
  • Publish Date: August 2015
  • Page Count: 400
  • Reading Level: Ages 12-UP


Related Categories

Books > Juvenile Fiction > Horror
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Short Stories
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Paranormal, Occult & Supernatural

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2015-05-18
  • Reviewer: Staff

In this gruesome collection of horror stories, 14 authors including Leigh Bardugo, Marie Lu, Jonathan Maberry, and Carrie Ryan take inspiration from movies, books, songs, and television, twisting, reworking, and combining them to create something terrifying and new. Some references are expected (Frankenstein leaves its mark in several stories), while others are less so—All Quiet on the Western Front, or songs by Nirvana and Mudvayne. Urban legends and ghost stories rub elbows with disturbing romances and bloody tales of revenge. Tucholke’s “The Flicker, the Fingers, the Beat, the Sigh” pays homage to classic teen horror films, right down to the tragedy on a rainy night; Cat Winters’s “Emmeline” is a haunting story of love and loss in wartime. Danielle Paige’s “The Dark, Scary Parts and All” adds romance to a mashup of two very different horror films, and Jay Kristoff’s “Sleepless” puts the knife to a disturbing online relationship. With both variety and familiarity at play, there’s nary a clunker in the collection—this is satisfying, disturbing horror for the modern YA audience. Ages 12–up. Agent: Joanna Volpe, New Leaf Literary & Media. (Aug.)

 
BAM Customer Reviews