Coupon
Small Admissions
by Amy Poeppel


Overview - People 's Book of the Week
" The Devil Wears Prada meets Primates of Park Avenue ." -- The New York Times
"Perfect for fans of Curtis Sittenfeld's Prep ."-- Booklist
Top 6 Books You Need to Read-- BuzzFeed
Best Books to Give Every Book Lover on Your List-- Town and Country
One admission can change your life...forever.
  Read more...

 
Hardcover
  • Retail Price: $26.00
  • $19.18
    (Save 26%)

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock Online.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About Small Admissions by Amy Poeppel
 
 
 
Overview
People's Book of the Week
"The Devil Wears Prada meets Primates of Park Avenue." --The New York Times
"Perfect for fans of Curtis Sittenfeld's Prep."--Booklist
Top 6 Books You Need to Read--BuzzFeed
Best Books to Give Every Book Lover on Your List--Town and Country
One admission can change your life...forever.
When ambitious grad student Kate Pearson's handsome French "almost fiance" ditches her, she definitely does not roll with the punches, despite the best efforts of family and friends. It seems that nothing will get Kate out of pajamas and back into the world.
Miraculously, one cringe-worthy job interview leads to a position in the admissions department at the revered Hudson Day School. Kate's instantly thrown into a highly competitive and occasionally absurd culture, where she interviews all types of children: suitable, wildly unsuitable, charming, loathsome, ingratiating, or spoiled beyond all measure. And then there are the Park Avenue parents who refuse to take no for an answer.
As Kate begins to learn there's no room for self-pity or nonsense during the height of admissions season or life itself, her sister and friends find themselves keeping secrets, dropping bombshells, and arguing with each other about how to keep Kate on her feet. Meanwhile, Kate seems to be doing very nicely, thank you, and is even beginning to find out that her broken heart is very much on the mend. Welcome to the world of Small Admissions.

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9781501122521
  • ISBN-10: 1501122525
  • Publisher: Atria Books
  • Publish Date: December 2016
  • Page Count: 368


Related Categories

Books > Fiction > Contemporary Women
Books > Fiction > Coming of Age
Books > Fiction > Literary

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2016-09-12
  • Reviewer: Staff

The focus in Poeppels quick-witted debut novel is on elite private school admissions. Kate Pearson is a sharp yet aimless young woman a couple of years out of Wellesley, struggling to recover from a disastrous breakup. Her helicopter sister, Angela, gets her a job interview, which is a comical nightmare for Kate and her prospective boss. Surprisinglyto both of themhe hires her to be in charge of admissions at Manhattans prestigious Hudson Day School. Poeppels novel follows Kates journey from hot mess to self-actualizing grown-up, while detailing the campaigns for admission of a small group of students and their families. Some rise to the challenge, but one fails miserably. The novel is also about friendship and family, and the author gently satirizes hippie academics through Kates parents, whose nontraditional take on child rearing contributed in no small part to Angelas tightly wound demeanor. Rounding out the cast are Kates two best friends: Chloe, who goes to extreme, humorous lengths to find Kate a boyfriend, and Vicki, who tries to manipulate the situation to her advantage. With so many strong personalities and disparate threads, Kate and her story might easily have gotten lost, but the author, like a circus ringmaster, points attention here and there, always bringing it back to the center. An excellent debut. (Dec.)

 
BAM Customer Reviews