Coupon
The Sound of Life and Everything
by Krista Van Dolzer


Overview - A fascinating speculative historical fiction debut set in 1950s California--perfect for fans of When You Reach Me .

Twelve-year-old Ella Mae Higbee is a sensible girl. She eats her vegetables and wants to be just like Sergeant Friday, her favorite character on Dragnet.  Read more...


 
In Stock.

This item is Non-Returnable.
FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 30 copies from $2.99
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 

More About The Sound of Life and Everything by Krista Van Dolzer
 
 
 
Overview
A fascinating speculative historical fiction debut set in 1950s California--perfect for fans of When You Reach Me.

Twelve-year-old Ella Mae Higbee is a sensible girl. She eats her vegetables and wants to be just like Sergeant Friday, her favorite character on Dragnet. So when her auntie Mildred starts spouting nonsense about a scientist who can bring her cousin back to life from blood on his dog tags, Ella Mae is skeptical--until he steps out of a bio-pod right before her eyes.

But the boy is not her cousin--he's Japanese. And in California in the wake of World War II, the Japanese are still feared and despised. When her aunt refuses to take responsibility, Ella Mae and her Mama take him home instead. Determined to do what's right by her new friend, Ella Mae teaches Takuma English and defends him from the reverend's talk of H-E-double-toothpicks. But when his memories start to resurface, Ella Mae learns some shocking truths about her own family and more importantly, what it means to love.


This item is Non-Returnable.

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780399167751
  • ISBN-10: 0399167757
  • Publisher: G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers
  • Publish Date: May 2015
  • Page Count: 272
  • Reading Level: Ages 10-UP
  • Dimensions: 8.4 x 5.8 x 1 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.8 pounds


Related Categories

Books > Juvenile Fiction > Family - General (see also headings under Social Themes)

 
BAM Customer Reviews