Coupon
Stolen Beauty
by Laurie Lico Albanese


Overview - "A powerful and important tale of love and war, art and family...I was transported." --Allison Pataki, New York Times bestselling author
" Stolen Beauty is a work of art itself--one that is simultaneously alarming and comforting." -- Wall Street Journal
From the dawn of the twentieth century to the devastation of World War II, this exhilarating novel of love, war, art, and family gives voice to two extraordinary women and brings to life the true story behind the creation and near destruction of Gustav Klimt's most remarkable paintings.
  Read more...

 
Hardcover
  • Retail Price: $26.00
  • $17.42
    (Save 33%)

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock Online.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
 
 

More About Stolen Beauty by Laurie Lico Albanese
 
 
 
Overview
"A powerful and important tale of love and war, art and family...I was transported." --Allison Pataki, New York Times bestselling author
"Stolen Beauty is a work of art itself--one that is simultaneously alarming and comforting." --Wall Street Journal
From the dawn of the twentieth century to the devastation of World War II, this exhilarating novel of love, war, art, and family gives voice to two extraordinary women and brings to life the true story behind the creation and near destruction of Gustav Klimt's most remarkable paintings.
In the dazzling glitter of 1900 Vienna, Adele Bloch-Bauer--young, beautiful, brilliant, and Jewish--meets painter Gustav Klimt. Wealthy in everything but freedom, Adele embraces Klimt's renegade genius as the two awaken to the erotic possibilities on the canvas and beyond. Though they enjoy a life where sex and art are just beginning to break through the facade of conventional society, the city is also exhibiting a disturbing increase in anti-Semitism, as political hatred foments in the shadows of Adele's coffee house afternoons and cultural salons.
Nearly forty years later, Adele's niece Maria Altmann is a newlywed when the Nazis invade Austria--and overnight, her beloved Vienna becomes a war zone. When her husband is arrested and her family is forced out of their home, Maria must summon the courage and resilience that is her aunt's legacy if she is to survive and keep her family--and their history--alive.
Will Maria and her family escape the grip of Nazis' grip? And what will become of the paintings that her aunt nearly sacrificed everything for?
Impeccably researched and a "must-read for fans of Kristin Hannah's The Nightingale and Paula McLain's Circling the Sun" (Christina Baker Kline, #1 New York Times bestselling author), Stolen Beauty intertwines the tales of two remarkable women across more than a hundred years. It juxtaposes passion and discovery against hatred and despair, and shines a light on our ability to love, to destroy, and above all, to endure.

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9781501131981
  • ISBN-10: 1501131982
  • Publisher: Atria Books
  • Publish Date: February 2017
  • Page Count: 320
  • Dimensions: 9.1 x 6 x 1.2 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.05 pounds


Related Categories

Books > Fiction > Historical - General
Books > Fiction > Biographical
Books > Fiction > Literary

 
BAM Customer Reviews