The Storm
by Arif Anwar


Overview - In the tradition of Khaled Hosseini's The Kite Runner and Rohinton Mistry's A Fine Balance, a sweeping historical novel that seamlessly interweaves five love stories spanning fifty years of Bangladeshi history.

Time is running out for Shahryar.  Read more...


 
In Stock.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 20 copies from $13.81
 
 
 

More About The Storm by Arif Anwar
 
 
 
Overview
In the tradition of Khaled Hosseini's The Kite Runner and Rohinton Mistry's A Fine Balance, a sweeping historical novel that seamlessly interweaves five love stories spanning fifty years of Bangladeshi history.

Time is running out for Shahryar. His work visa has expired and he may soon be forced out of the United States and back to his home country of Bangladesh. Clinging to the remaining weeks he has left with his young American daughter, Shar reflects upon his family's history, beginning in a village on the Bay of Bengal, where a poor fisherman, Jamir, and his wife, Honufa, prepare to face a storm of historic proportions.

Spilling across tense, crucial moments in history, Jamir and Honufa's story intersects with other lives, like that of Ichiro, a Japanese pilot fighting in a war he does not understand; Claire, a British doctor in danger during the anti-colonialist Burmese rebellions; and Rahim and Zahira, a privileged couple in Calcutta uprooted to East Pakistan by the Partition of India.

With a narrative sweep mirroring the storm's devastating path--leading to the eye's calamitous landing--The Storm explores hope, loss, sacrifice, and the many ways in which families honor, betray, and ultimately love one another.

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9781501174506
  • ISBN-10: 1501174509
  • Publisher: Atria Books
  • Publish Date: May 2018
  • Page Count: 320
  • Dimensions: 9.1 x 6 x 1.2 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.05 pounds


Related Categories

Books > Fiction > Sagas
Books > Fiction > Historical - General
Books > Fiction > Literary

 
BAM Customer Reviews