Coupon
The Summer House
by Hannah McKinnon


Overview - When Flossy Merrill summons her children to the beloved family beach house to celebrate their father's eightieth birthday, both cherished memories and long-kept secrets come to light in this charming and lyrical novel from the author of The Lake Season and Mystic Summer.  Read more...

 
Paperback
  • Retail Price: $16.00
  • $12.32
    (Save 23%)
  • 20% off for Members: Get the Club Price
    $ 9.86
  • Buy 2, Get 3rd Free!
    > 100 Days of Sales!

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock Online.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 15 copies from $8.87
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About The Summer House by Hannah McKinnon
 
 
 
Overview
When Flossy Merrill summons her children to the beloved family beach house to celebrate their father's eightieth birthday, both cherished memories and long-kept secrets come to light in this charming and lyrical novel from the author of The Lake Season and Mystic Summer.

Flossy Merrill has managed to--somewhat begrudgingly--gather her three ungrateful grown children from their dysfunctional lives for a summer reunion at the family's Rhode Island beach house. Clementine, her youngest child and a young mother of two small children, has caused Flossy the most worry after enduring a tragically life-altering year. But Samuel and his partner Evan are not far behind in their ability to alarm: their prospective adoption search has just taken a heart-wrenching turn. Only Paige, the eldest of the headstrong Merrill clan, is her usual self: arriving precisely on time with her well-adapted teens. Little does her family know that she, too, is facing personal struggles of her own.

No matter. With her family finally congregated under one seaside roof, Flossy is determined to steer her family back on course even as she prepares to reveal the fate of the summer house that everyone has thus far taken for granted: she's selling it. The Merrill children are both shocked and outraged and each returns to memories of their childhoods at their once beloved summer house--the house where they have not only grown up, but from which they have grown away. With each lost in their respective heartaches, Clementine, Samuel, and Paige will be forced to reconsider what really matters before they all say goodbye to a house that not only defined their summers, but, ultimately, the ways in which they define themselves. Featuring McKinnon's "sharp and evocative" (Kirkus Reviews) voice, this warm-hearted novel is perfect for fans of Elin Hilderbrand and Mary Alice Monroe.

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9781501162800
  • ISBN-10: 1501162802
  • Publisher: Atria Books
  • Publish Date: June 2017
  • Page Count: 336
  • Dimensions: 8.2 x 5.3 x 0.8 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.5 pounds


Related Categories

Books > Fiction > Contemporary Women
Books > Fiction > Family Life

 
BAM Customer Reviews