Coupon
Sweetbitter
by Stephanie Danler


Overview - INSTANT NATIONAL BESTSELLER * A thrilling novel of the senses and a coming-of-age tale, following a small-town girl into the electrifying world of New York City and the education of a lifetime at one of the most exclusive restaurants in Manhattan.  Read more...

 
Hardcover
  • Retail Price: $25.00
  • $15.50
    (Save 38%)
  • Members Save 10% Club Price
    $ 13.95

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About Sweetbitter by Stephanie Danler
 
 
 
Overview
INSTANT NATIONAL BESTSELLER * A thrilling novel of the senses and a coming-of-age tale, following a small-town girl into the electrifying world of New York City and the education of a lifetime at one of the most exclusive restaurants in Manhattan. Perfect for readers of Kitchen Confidential and Blood, Bones and Butter.
Twenty-two, and knowing no one, Tess leaves home to begin her adult life in New York City. Thus begins a year that is both enchanting and punishing, in a low-level job at the best restaurant in New York City. Grueling hours and a steep culinary learning curve awaken her to the beauty of oysters, the finest Champagnes, the appellations of Burgundy. At the same time, she opens herself to friendships and love set against the backdrop of dive bars and late nights. As her appetites sharpen for food and wine, but also for knowledge, experience, and belonging Tess is drawn into adarkly alluring love triangle that will prove to be her most exhilarating and painful lesson of all.
Stephanie Danler deftly conjures the nonstop and purely adrenalized world of the restaurant conversations interrupted, phrases overheard, and suggestions below the surface. Evoking the infinite possibility of being young in New York with heart-stopping accuracy, Sweetbitter is ultimately about the power of what remains after disillusionment, and the wisdom that comes from experience, sweet and bitter."

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9781101875940
  • ISBN-10: 1101875941
  • Publisher: Knopf Publishing Group
  • Publish Date: May 2016
  • Page Count: 368


Related Categories

Books > Fiction > Literary
Books > Fiction > Coming of Age
Books > Fiction > Urban

 
BAM Customer Reviews