Coupon
Sword and Verse
by Kathy MacMillan


Overview -

In a sweeping fantasy that award-winning author Franny Billingsley called "fascinating and unique," debut author Kathy MacMillan weaves palace intrigue and epic world building to craft a tale for fans of Rae Carson and Megan Whalen Turner.  Read more...


 
Hardcover
  • $17.99

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About Sword and Verse by Kathy MacMillan
 
 
 
Overview

In a sweeping fantasy that award-winning author Franny Billingsley called "fascinating and unique," debut author Kathy MacMillan weaves palace intrigue and epic world building to craft a tale for fans of Rae Carson and Megan Whalen Turner.

Raisa was just a child when she was sold into slavery in the kingdom of Qilara. Before she was taken away, her father had been adamant that she learn to read and write. But where she now lives, literacy is a capital offense for all but the nobility. The written language is closely protected, and only the King, Prince, Tutor, and Tutor-in-training are allowed to learn its very highest form. So when she is plucked from her menial labor and selected to replace the last Tutor-in-training, who was executed, Raisa knows that betraying any hint of her past could mean death.

Keeping her secret guarded is hard enough, but the romance that's been blossoming between her and Prince Mati isn't helping matters. Then Raisa is approached by the Resistance an underground rebel army to help liberate the city's slaves. She wants to free her people, but that would mean aiding a war against Mati. As Raisa struggles with what to do, she discovers a secret that the Qilarites have been hiding for centuries one that, if uncovered, could bring the kingdom to its knees."

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780062324610
  • ISBN-10: 0062324616
  • Publisher: Harper Teen
  • Publish Date: January 2016
  • Page Count: 384
  • Reading Level: Ages 14-UP


Related Categories

Books > Juvenile Fiction > Fantasy & Magic
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Love & Romance
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Royalty (kings queens princes princesses knights etc.)

 
BAM Customer Reviews