Coupon
Symptoms of Being Human
by Jeff Garvin


Overview -

Starred reviews from Publishers Weekly and Booklist * YALSA Top Ten Quick Pick for Reluctant Readers * ALA Best Fiction for Young Adults List * 2017 Rainbow List

A sharply honest and moving debut perfect for fans of The Perks of Being a Wallflower and Ask the Passengers Read more...


 
In Stock.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 18 copies from $6.29
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About Symptoms of Being Human by Jeff Garvin
 
 
 
Overview

Starred reviews from Publishers Weekly and Booklist * YALSA Top Ten Quick Pick for Reluctant Readers * ALA Best Fiction for Young Adults List * 2017 Rainbow List

A sharply honest and moving debut perfect for fans of The Perks of Being a Wallflower and Ask the Passengers.

Riley Cavanaugh is many things: Punk rock. Snarky. Rebellious. And gender fluid. Some days Riley identifies as a boy, and others as a girl. But Riley isn't exactly out yet. And between starting a new school and having a congressman father running for reelection in uber-conservative Orange County, the pressure--media and otherwise--is building up in Riley's life.

On the advice of a therapist, Riley starts an anonymous blog to vent those pent-up feelings and tell the truth of what it's really like to be a gender fluid teenager. But just as Riley's starting to settle in at school--even developing feelings for a mysterious outcast--the blog goes viral, and an unnamed commenter discovers Riley's real identity, threatening exposure. And Riley must make a choice: walk away from what the blog has created--a lifeline, new friends, a cause to believe in--or stand up, come out, and risk everything.

From debut author Jeff Garvin comes a powerful and uplifting portrait of a modern teen struggling with high school, relationships, and what it means to be human.


 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780062382870
  • ISBN-10: 006238287X
  • Publisher: Balzer & Bray/Harperteen
  • Publish Date: November 2017
  • Page Count: 352
  • Reading Level: Ages 14-UP
  • Dimensions: 7.9 x 5.2 x 1 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.57 pounds


Related Categories

Books > Young Adult Fiction > Social Themes - Bullying
Books > Young Adult Fiction > LGBT
Books > Young Adult Fiction > Coming of Age

 
BAM Customer Reviews