Coupon
Sync : The Emerging Science of Spontaneous Order
by Steven Strogatz


Overview - At the heart of the universe is a steady, insistent beat, the sound of cycles in sync. Along the tidal rivers of Malaysia, thousands of fireflies congregate and flash in unison; the moon spins in perfect resonance with its orbit around the earth; our hearts depend on the synchronous firing of ten thousand pacemaker cells.  Read more...

 
Hardcover
  • $30.99
  • 10% Off for Members Club Price
    $ 27.89

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 34 copies from $5.82
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About Sync by Steven Strogatz
 
 
 
Overview
At the heart of the universe is a steady, insistent beat, the sound of cycles in sync. Along the tidal rivers of Malaysia, thousands of fireflies congregate and flash in unison; the moon spins in perfect resonance with its orbit around the earth; our hearts depend on the synchronous firing of ten thousand pacemaker cells. While the forces that synchronize the flashing of fireflies may seem to have nothing to do with our heart cells, there is in fact a deep connection.

Synchrony is a science in its infancy, and Strogatz is a pioneer in this new frontier in which mathematicians and physicists attempt to pinpoint just how spontaneous order emerges from chaos. From underground caves in Texas where a French scientist spent six months alone tracking his sleep-wake cycle, to the home of a Dutch physicist who in 1665 discovered two of his pendulum clocks swinging in perfect time, this fascinating book spans disciplines, continents, and centuries. Engagingly written for readers of books such as Chaos and The Elegant Universe, Sync is a tour-de-force of nonfiction writing.

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780786868445
  • ISBN-10: 0786868449
  • Publisher: Theia
  • Publish Date: March 2003
  • Page Count: 352
  • Reading Level: Ages 18-17


Related Categories

Books > Science > System Theory

 
BAM Customer Reviews