The Bootleg Series, Vol. 8: Tell Tale Signs - Rare and Unreleased 1989-2006
by Bob Dylan

In Stock.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary


More About The Bootleg Series, Vol. 8: Tell Tale Signs - Rare and Unreleased 1989-2006 by Bob Dylan

Track Listing

1 Mississippi - (previously unreleased)
2 Most of the Time - (previously unreleased, alternate take)
3 Dignity - (previously unreleased)
4 Someday Baby - (previously unreleased, alternate take)
5 Red River Shore - (previously unreleased)
6 Tel Ol' Bill - (previously unreleased, alternate take)
7 Born in Time - (previously unreleased)
8 Can't Wait - (previously unreleased, alternate take)
9 Everything Is Broken - (previously unreleased, alternate take)
10 Dreamin' of You - (previously unreleased)
11 Huck's Tune
12 Marchin' to the City - (previously unreleased)
13 High Water (For Charley Patton) - (previously unreleased, live)
1 Mississippi - (previously unreleased)
2 32-20 Blues - (previously unreleased)
3 Series of Dreams - (previously unreleased)
4 God Knows - (previously unreleased)
5 Can't Escape from You - (previously unreleased)
6 Dignity - (previously unreleased)
7 Ring Them Bells - (previously unreleased, live)
8 Cocaine Blues - (previously unreleased, live)
9 Ain't Talkin' - (previously unreleased, alternate take)
10 Girl on the Greenbriar Shore, The - (previously unreleased, live)
11 Lonesome Day Blues - (previously unreleased, live)
12 Miss the Mississippi - (previously unreleased)
13 Lonesome River, The - (featuring Ralph Stanley)
14 Cross the Green Mountain

Featured Artist: Ralph Stanley

Genre: Oldies
  • Genre: Popular Music
  • Release Date: October 2008
  • Label: Columbia (USA)
  • Format: CD
  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Audio Format: Stereo
  • Producer: Daniel Lanois; David Bromberg; Jeff Rosen; Jack Frost; Bil VornDick; Daniel Lanois; David Bromberg; Jeff Rosen; Jack Frost; Jeff Rosen (Compilation)
  • Engineer: Mark Howard; Micajah Ryan; Bil VornDick; Chris Shaw; Greg Calbi; Malcolm Burn; Mark Howard; Micajah Ryan
Music Reviews

Editorial Reviews

Rolling Stone (p.76) - 4.5 stars out of 5 -- "TELL TALE SIGNS makes plain that Dylan knows the caprices of the world he lives in, now more than ever. Just as important, this collection bears witness to Dylan's reclamation of voice and perspective."

Rolling Stone (p.88) - Ranked #2 in Rolling Stone's 50 Best Albums Of 2008 -- "The veering tempers of Dylan's medicine-rattle rasp are a wonder to themselves."

Entertainment Weekly (p.70) - "[T]he generally superb TELL TALE SIGNS repurposes known material in simple, languid, semi-acoustic settings that hark back to '70s classics like BLOOD ON THE TRACKS." -- Grade: A

Uncut - 5 stars out of 5 -- "TELL TALE SIGNS is awash with evidence of his staggering mercuriality, his evident determination even in the studio to repeat himself as little as possible..."

Mojo (Publisher) (p.122) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "Dylan's second album with Lanois, TIME OUT OF MIND, is represented by a nice, slow blues alternative take of 'Can't Wait' and four songs that didn't make the final cut....Top prizes go to gutbucket 'Lonesome Day Blues' and harmony-laden 'Cocaine Blues'..."

Record Collector (magazine) (p.86) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "The overriding lesson from these TELL TALE SIGNS is of Bob's immaculate role as performer. There is no one 'final version' of a track -- just the one that happens to make sense on the day."

Customer Reviews