Coupon
These Shallow Graves
by Jennifer Donnelly


Overview - A New York Times bestseller from the acclaimed author of A Northern Light and Revolution. This thrilling mystery is perfect for fans of The Cellar and Suicide Notes from Beautiful Girls . It's a story of dark secrets, dirty truths, and the lengths to which people will go for love and revenge.  Read more...

 
Hardcover
  • Retail Price: $19.99
  • $13.39
    (Save 33%)

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About These Shallow Graves by Jennifer Donnelly
 
 
 
Overview
A New York Times bestseller from the acclaimed author of A Northern Light and Revolution.This thrilling mystery is perfect for fans of The Cellar and Suicide Notes from Beautiful Girls. It's a story of dark secrets, dirty truths, and the lengths to which people will go for love and revenge.
Jo Montfort is beautiful and rich, and soon like all the girls in her class she ll graduate from finishing school and be married off to a wealthy bachelor. Which is the last thing she wants. Jo dreams of becoming a writer a newspaper reporter.
Wild aspirations aside, Jo s life seems perfect until tragedy strikes: her father is found dead. The story is that Charles Montfort shot himself while cleaning his revolver, but the more Jo hears about her father s death, the more something feels wrong. And then she meets Eddie a young, smart, infuriatingly handsome reporter at her father s newspaper and it becomes all too clear how much she stands to lose if she keeps searching for the truth. But now it might be too late to stop.
The past never stays buried forever. Life is dirtier than Jo Montfort could ever have imagined, and this time the truth is the dirtiest part of all.
Praise forThese Shallow Graves

Action-packed chapters propel this compelling mystery and] the injustices Donelly highlights remain all too relevant. Publishers Weekly, Starred Review
Lovely prose, historical intrigue, unique characters and setting. I devoured this book Ruta Sepetys, New York Timesbestselling author ofBetween Shades of GrayandSalt to the Sea
A splendidly hair-raising tourof the brightest and darkest corners of Victorian New York. Elizabeth Wein, New York Timesbestselling author ofCode Name VerityandBlack Dove, White Raven
A fast-paced Gilded Age crime thriller. Julie Berry, award-winning author ofAll the Truth That s in Me

From the Trade Paperback edition."

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780385737654
  • ISBN-10: 0385737653
  • Publisher: Delacorte Press
  • Publish Date: October 2015
  • Page Count: 496
  • Reading Level: Ages 12-UP


Related Categories

Books > Juvenile Fiction > Thrillers & Suspense
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Mysteries, Espionage, & Detective Stories
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Historical - United States - 19th Century

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2015-08-17
  • Reviewer: Staff

Josephine Montfort, one of the wealthy elite in 1890 New York City, is supposed to finish school, marry a suitable gentleman, raise a family, “and that is all.” But smart, self-assured Jo desires more from life—and wants to become a reporter like Nellie Bly. When Jo’s father unexpectedly dies, and she discovers that his death wasn’t an accident, she teams up with an intrepid reporter named Eddie to find out what really happened. They uncover secrets that upend everything she has known, and Jo risks her reputation as they visit checkered parts of the city and she starts to fall for Eddie. While this isn’t a short book, Donnelly’s (Revolution) action-packed chapters propel this compelling mystery. Through Jo’s sheltered perspective, readers learn about class disparity right alongside her, and Donnelly is as adept at describing an opulent ball as she is a seedy neighborhood. Though some of the constraints placed on female behavior during that time period have faded, the injustices Donnelly highlights remain all too relevant. Ages 12–up. Agent: Steven Malk, Writers House. (Oct.)

 
BAM Customer Reviews