The Thing with Feathers
by McCall Hoyle


Overview -

Emilie Day believes in playing it safe: she's homeschooled, her best friend is her seizure dog, and she's probably the only girl on the Outer Banks of North Carolina who can't swim

Then Emilie's mom enrolls her in public school, and Emilie goes from studying at home in her pj's to halls full of strangers.  Read more...


 
PRE-ORDER NOW:
This item will ship on August 21, 2018. If you order this item now, it will not delay the rest of your order.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About The Thing with Feathers by McCall Hoyle
 
 
 
Overview

Emilie Day believes in playing it safe: she's homeschooled, her best friend is her seizure dog, and she's probably the only girl on the Outer Banks of North Carolina who can't swim

Then Emilie's mom enrolls her in public school, and Emilie goes from studying at home in her pj's to halls full of strangers. To make matters worse, Emilie is paired with starting point guard Chatham York for a major research project on Emily Dickinson. She should be ecstatic when Chatham shows interest, but she has a problem. She hasn't told anyone about her epilepsy.

Emilie lives in fear her recently adjusted meds will fail and she'll seize at school. Eventually, the worst happens, and she must decide whether to withdraw to safety or follow a dead poet's advice and "dwell in possibility."

From Golden Heart award-winning author McCall Hoyle comes The Thing with Feathers, a story of overcoming fears, forging new friendships, and finding a first love, perfect for fans of Jennifer Niven, Robyn Schneider, and Sharon M. Draper.

"Filled with poignancy, sparkling wit, and Southern charm, The Thing with Feathers made my heart absolutely soar It's everything I love in a YA contemporary."

Darcy Woods, award-winning author of Summer of Supernovas

"Heartfelt and affecting. Hoyle tells a familiar story, but does so in a voice that is rarely heard, and that makes all the difference."

Leah Thomas, William C. Morris Award finalist and author of Because You'll Never Meet Me and Nowhere Near You

"A refreshing, quality debut--meaningfully woven and beautifully engaging, from the first page to the last."

YA Books Central *****

"Very highly recommended for personal reading lists, The Thing with Feathers will prove to be an ideal and enduringly popular addition to school and community library YA Fiction collections."

Midwest Book Review


 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780310758419
  • ISBN-10: 0310758416
  • Publisher: Blink
  • Publish Date: August 2018
  • Page Count: 304
  • Reading Level: Ages 12-17
  • Dimensions: 8.3 x 5.4 x 0.9 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.6 pounds


Related Categories

Books > Young Adult Fiction > Social Themes - Disabilities & Special Needs
Books > Young Adult Fiction > Romance - General
Books > Young Adult Fiction > Coming of Age

 
BAM Customer Reviews