Coupon
Things I Should Have Known
by Claire Lazebnik


Overview - An unforgettable story about autism, sisterhood, and first love that's perfect for fans of Jenny Han, Sophie Kinsella, and Sarah Dessen. New York Times bestselling author of Tell Me Three Things Julie Buxbaum raved: "I couldn't put it down."

Meet Chloe Mitchell, a popular Los Angeles girl who's decided that her older sister, Ivy, who's on the autism spectrum, could use a boyfriend.
  Read more...

 
Hardcover
  • $17.99
  • 20% off for Members: Get the Club Price
    $ 14.39

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock Online.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 17 copies from $8.47
 
eBook
Retail Price: $17.99
$12.74

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

Download

This item is available only to U.S. and Canada billing addresses.
 
 
 

More About Things I Should Have Known by Claire Lazebnik
 
 
 
Overview
An unforgettable story about autism, sisterhood, and first love that's perfect for fans of Jenny Han, Sophie Kinsella, and Sarah Dessen. New York Times bestselling author of Tell Me Three Things Julie Buxbaum raved: "I couldn't put it down."

Meet Chloe Mitchell, a popular Los Angeles girl who's decided that her older sister, Ivy, who's on the autism spectrum, could use a boyfriend. Chloe already has someone in mind: Ethan Fields, a sweet, movie-obsessed boy from Ivy's special needs class.

Chloe would like to ignore Ethan's brother, David, but she can't--Ivy and Ethan aren't comfortable going out on their own so Chloe and David have to tag along. Soon Chloe, Ivy, David, and Ethan form a quirky and wholly lovable circle. And as the group bonds over frozen yogurt dates and movie nights, Chloe is forced to confront her own romantic choices--and the realization that it's okay to be a different kind of normal.

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780544829695
  • ISBN-10: 0544829697
  • Publisher: Houghton Mifflin
  • Publish Date: March 2017
  • Page Count: 320
  • Reading Level: Ages 12-UP
  • Dimensions: 8.3 x 5.7 x 1.2 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.95 pounds


Related Categories

Books > > Family - Siblings
Books > > Romance - Contemporary
Books > > Social Themes - Dating & Sex

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2016-12-19
  • Reviewer: Staff

High school senior Chloe is well liked, gets good grades, and has a nearly perfect boyfriend, but she worries about her older sister, Ivy, who has autism. When it dawns on Chloe that Ivy might be lonely, she arranges a date for her with Ethan, a boy in Ivys special needs class. But Ethans brother (and chaperone) turns out to be Chloes despicable classmate, David, who only talks in class to attack what someone else has said. In this insightful account of misconceptions, family conflict, and the ironies of love, LaZebnik (Wrong About the Guy) examines the evolution of several relationships, including the foundering romance between Ivy and Ethan, and the unexpected bond that forms between Chloe and David. During the weeks that follow, Chloe is happily surprised to discover a greater depth to her stepfathers devotion to Ivy but saddened to realize that her boyfriend and closest girlfriend will never truly understand her complicated home life. Writing with honesty and wit, LaZebnik offers a thought-provoking portrayal of how people can come together despite, or perhaps because of, their differences. Ages 12up. Agent: Alexis Hurley, Inkwell Management. (Mar.)

 
BAM Customer Reviews