Coupon
Things That Surprise You
by Jennifer Maschari


Overview -

A poignant, charming middle grade novel, perfect for fans of The Thing About Jellyfish and Fish in a Tree . A beautifully layered story about navigating the often shifting bonds of family and friendship, and learning how to put the pieces back together when things fall apart.  Read more...


 
Hardcover
  • Retail Price: $16.99
  • $11.55
    (Save 32%)

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock Online.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 19 copies from $6.69
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 

More About Things That Surprise You by Jennifer Maschari
 
 
 
Overview

A poignant, charming middle grade novel, perfect for fans of The Thing About Jellyfish and Fish in a Tree. A beautifully layered story about navigating the often shifting bonds of family and friendship, and learning how to put the pieces back together when things fall apart.

Emily Murphy is about to enter middle school. She's sort of excited...though not nearly as much as her best friend Hazel, who is ready for everything to be new. Emily wishes she and Hazel could just continue on as they always have, being the biggest fans ever of the Unicorn Chronicles, making up dance moves, and getting their regular order at The Slice.

But things are changing. At home, Emily and her mom are learning to move on after her parents' divorce. Hardest of all, her beloved sister Mina has been in a treatment facility to deal with her anorexia. Emily is eager to have her back, but anxious about her sister getting sick again.

Hazel is changing too. She has new friends from the field hockey team, is starting to wear makeup, and have crushes on boys. Emily is trying to keep up, but she keeps doing and saying the wrong thing. She wants to be the perfect new Emily. But who is that really?


 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780062438928
  • ISBN-10: 0062438921
  • Publisher: Balzer & Bray/Harperteen
  • Publish Date: August 2017
  • Page Count: 288
  • Reading Level: Ages 8-12
  • Dimensions: 8.5 x 5.8 x 1 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.8 pounds


Related Categories

Books > Juvenile Fiction > Family - Siblings
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Social Themes - Friendship
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Health & Daily Living - Diseases, Illnesses & Injuries

 
BAM Customer Reviews