Coupon
This Census-Taker
by China Mieville


Overview - For readers of George Saunders, Kelly Link, David Mitchell, and Karen Russell, This Census-Taker is a stunning, uncanny, and profoundly moving novella from multiple-award-winning and bestselling author China Mieville.

In a remote house on a hilltop, a lonely boy witnesses a profoundly traumatic event.
  Read more...

 
Hardcover
  • $24.00
  • Members Take 10% Off! Club Price
    $ 21.60

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About This Census-Taker by China Mieville
 
 
 
Overview
For readers of George Saunders, Kelly Link, David Mitchell, and Karen Russell, This Census-Taker is a stunning, uncanny, and profoundly moving novella from multiple-award-winning and bestselling author China Mieville.

In a remote house on a hilltop, a lonely boy witnesses a profoundly traumatic event. He tries and fails to flee. Left alone with his increasingly deranged parent, he dreams of safety, of joining the other children in the town below, of escape.
When at last a stranger knocks at his door, the boy senses that his days of isolation might be over.
But by what authority does this man keep the meticulous records he carries? What is the purpose behind his questions? Is he friend? Enemy? Or something else altogether?
Filled with beauty, terror, and strangeness, This Census-Taker is a poignant and riveting exploration of memory and identity.
Praise for This Census-Taker
China Mieville is a magician . . . who can both blow your mind with ideas as big as the universe and break your heart with language so precise and polished, it s like he s writing with diamonds. NPR

The book haunts the reader; what actually happened seems always just out of reach, glimpsed in shadow as it rounds a corner ahead of our vision. Los Angeles Review of Books

Mieville s] been compared to Karen Russell and George Saunders, and rightfully so. The Huffington Post

Marvellous. The Guardian

Lingers in the mind like an unsettling dream. Financial Times
A thought-provoking fairy tale for adults . . . This Census-Taker] resembles the narrative style, quirkiness, and plotting found in the works of Karen Russell, Aimee Bender, or Steven Millhauser. Booklist

Brief and dreamlike . . . a deceptively simple story whose plot could be taken as a symbolic representation of an aspect of humanity as big as an entire society and as small as a single soul. Kirkus Reviews"

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9781101967324
  • ISBN-10: 1101967323
  • Publisher: Del Rey Books
  • Publish Date: January 2016
  • Page Count: 224


Related Categories

Books > Fiction > Literary
Books > Fiction > Fantasy - Contemporary

 
BAM Customer Reviews