Coupon
This Raging Light
by Estelle Laure


Overview - For fans of Jandy Nelson and Rainbow Rowell comes a gorgeous debut novel about family, friends, and first love.

Lucille Bennett is pushed into adulthood after her mom decides to "take a break..".from parenting, from responsibility, from Lucille and her little sister, Wren.
  Read more...

 
Hardcover
  • $17.99
  • 20% off for Members: Get the Club Price
    $ 14.39

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock Online.

Free Shipping is not available for this item.
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
eBook
Retail Price: $9.99
$7.14

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

Download

This item is available only to U.S. and Canada billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About This Raging Light by Estelle Laure
 
 
 
Overview
For fans of Jandy Nelson and Rainbow Rowell comes a gorgeous debut novel about family, friends, and first love.

Lucille Bennett is pushed into adulthood after her mom decides to "take a break..".from parenting, from responsibility, from Lucille and her little sister, Wren. Left to cover for her absentee parents, Lucille thinks, "Wren and Lucille. Lucille and Wren. I will do whatever I have to. No one will pull us apart."
Now is not the time for level-headed Lucille to fall in love. But love--messy, inconvenient love--is what she's about to experience when she falls for Digby Jones, her best friend's brother. With blazing longing that builds to a fever pitch, Estelle Laure's soulful debut will keep readers hooked and hoping until the very last page.

"A funny, poetic, big-hearted reminder that life can--and will--take us all by surprise."
--Jennifer E. Smith, The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight

"Lucille may not take down a beast or assassinate any super bads, but she's what heroines look like and love like in real life."
--Justine Magazine

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780544534292
  • ISBN-10: 0544534298
  • Publisher: Houghton Mifflin
  • Publish Date: December 2015
  • Page Count: 288
  • Reading Level: Ages 14-UP


Related Categories

Books > > Romance - General
Books > > Family - Siblings
Books > > Social Themes - Friendship

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2015-09-28
  • Reviewer: Staff

Seventeen-year-old Lucille is hypercompetent but, then again, she doesnt have much choice. Her father has had a breakdown, her mother took off, and someone has to take care of her younger sister, Wren. In an assured debut, Laure gives Lucille a fierce stubbornness that keeps her going, even as it stops her from asking for help. The only person Lucille trusts is her best friend Eden andbecause theyre a package dealEdens twin brother, Digby. But Digby is complicated: even though Lucille has known him since they were seven, she has started to feel like shell die if he doesnt touch her, and shell die if he does. The characters are well drawn, and Laure effectively depicts the adrenaline rush of love and sex. But with everything Lucille is wrestling to managefinding money for food, paying taxes, keeping her car running, lying about her mothers absence, and parsing her feelings for Digbya potentially fatal accident brought into the mix feels like overkill. Ages 14up Agent: Emily van Beek, Folio Literary Management. (Dec.)

 
BAM Customer Reviews