Coupon
Travels with Charlie
by Sol Smith


Overview - A young couple sets out to discover the country in the pre-dawn of GPS navigation and instead discovers each other. In Travels with Charlie, William and Charlotte Stronghold quit their jobs and sell their belongings in order to set sail and find a new home somewhere between their native California and the green mountains of Vermont.  Read more...

 
In Stock.

This item is Non-Returnable.
FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 8 copies from $13.99
 
 
 

More About Travels with Charlie by Sol Smith
 
 
 
Overview
A young couple sets out to discover the country in the pre-dawn of GPS navigation and instead discovers each other. In Travels with Charlie, William and Charlotte Stronghold quit their jobs and sell their belongings in order to set sail and find a new home somewhere between their native California and the green mountains of Vermont. Along the way, they fall in love and into hate with the popular culture that binds Americans together. The lines are blurred between shady roadside attractions and heralded national monuments, between the natural wonders of the country and the loud and annoying tourists who populate them, between the concepts of place and self. A head-on collision, a single burrito nearly a yard long, dead presidents, something that is probably a bear, and a Canadian sex club provide the backdrop for this story that is part romance story, part tall-tale, and part coming of age memoir. At times sweet and heartbreaking, almost always bitingly funny, Travels with Charlie is an American story about life on the road, in the tradition of Huck Finn, On the Road, and Steinbeck's Travels with Charley.


This item is Non-Returnable.

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780988773738
  • ISBN-10: 0988773732
  • Publisher: Brave New Genre, Incorporated
  • Publish Date: September 2014
  • Page Count: 404
  • Dimensions: 8.5 x 5.5 x 0.9 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.13 pounds


Related Categories

Books > Travel > General

 
BAM Customer Reviews