Coupon
Treeborne
by Caleb Johnson


Overview -

In the tradition of Daniel Wallace's Big Fish and Amanda Coplin's The Orchardist comes a debut novel of an unusual family who have made their home at the margins of an unusual place.

Janie Treeborne lives on an orchard at the edge of Elberta, Alabama, and in time, she has become its keeper.  Read more...


 
Hardcover
  • $26.00

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

PRE-ORDER NOW:
This item will ship on June 5, 2018. If you order this item now, it will not delay the rest of your order.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
 
 
 

More About Treeborne by Caleb Johnson
 
 
 
Overview

In the tradition of Daniel Wallace's Big Fish and Amanda Coplin's The Orchardist comes a debut novel of an unusual family who have made their home at the margins of an unusual place.

Janie Treeborne lives on an orchard at the edge of Elberta, Alabama, and in time, she has become its keeper. A place where conquistadors oncewalked, and where the peaches they left behind now grow, Elberta has seenfierce battles, violent storms, and frantic change--and when the town is onceagain threatened from without, Janie realizes it won't withstand much more. Soshe tells the story of its people: of Hugh, her granddaddy, determined topreserve Elberta's legacy at any cost; of his wife, Maybelle, the postmaster, whose sudden death throws the town into chaos; of her lover, Lee Malone, ablack orchardist harvesting from a land where he is less than welcome; of thetime when Janie kidnapped her own Hollywood-obsessed aunt and tore the wrongpeople apart.


As the world closes in on Elberta, Caleb Johnson's debut novel lifts the veil and offers one last glimpse. Treeborne is a celebration and a reminder: of how the past gets mixed up in thoughts of the future; of how home is a story as much as a place.


 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9781250169082
  • ISBN-10: 1250169089
  • Publisher: Picador USA
  • Publish Date: June 2018
  • Page Count: 320


Related Categories

Books > Fiction > Literary
Books > Fiction > Family Life - General
Books > Fiction > Small Town & Rural

 
BAM Customer Reviews