Coupon
Try Not to Breathe
by Holly Seddon


Overview - For fans of Gillian Flynn, Laura Lippman, and Paula Hawkins comes Holly Seddon's arresting fiction debut--an engrossing thriller full of page-turning twists and turns, richly imagined characters, and gripping psychological suspense.

Some secrets never die.
  Read more...

 
Hardcover
  • $26.00

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock Online.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 55 copies from $2.99
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About Try Not to Breathe by Holly Seddon
 
 
 
Overview
For fans of Gillian Flynn, Laura Lippman, and Paula Hawkins comes Holly Seddon's arresting fiction debut--an engrossing thriller full of page-turning twists and turns, richly imagined characters, and gripping psychological suspense.

Some secrets never die. They're just locked away.

Alex Dale is lost. Destructive habits have cost her a marriage and a journalism career. All she has left is her routine: a morning run until her body aches, then a few hours of forgettable work before the past grabs hold and drags her down. Every day is treading water, every night is drowning. Until Alex discovers Amy Stevenson. Amy Stevenson, who was just another girl from a nearby town until the day she was found unconscious after a merciless assault. Amy Stevenson, who has been in a coma for fifteen years, forgotten by the world. Amy Stevenson, who, unbeknownst to her doctors, remains locked inside her body, conscious but paralyzed, reliving the past.

Soon Alex's routine includes visiting hours at the hospital, then interviews with the original suspects in the attack. But what starts as a reporter's story becomes a personal obsession. How do you solve a crime when the only witness lived but cannot tell the tale? Unable to tear herself away from her attempt to uncover the unspeakable truth, Alex realizes she's not just chasing a story--she's seeking salvation.

Shifting from present to past and back again, Try Not to Breathe unfolds layer by layer until its heart-stopping conclusion. The result is an utterly immersive, unforgettable debut.

Praise for Try Not to Breathe

"A brilliant, beautifully written thriller."--Augusten Burroughs, New York Times bestselling author of Running with Scissors

"A razor-sharp plot and wonderfully complex characters . . . Not since The Girl on the Train have I been so captivated by a work of suspense."--New York Times bestselling author Tess Gerritsen

"A fast-paced debut about long-buried secrets and tangled truths."--New York Times bestselling author Kimberly McCreight

"Engrossing . . . Seddon's storytelling skills are strong. . . . The world she's constructed is fascinating and slightly dark."--Kirkus Reviews

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9781101885864
  • ISBN-10: 1101885866
  • Publisher: Ballantine Books
  • Publish Date: February 2016
  • Page Count: 368
  • Dimensions: 9.4 x 6.4 x 1.2 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.2 pounds


Related Categories

Books > Fiction > Thrillers - Suspense
Books > Fiction > Contemporary Women
Books > Fiction > Psychological

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2015-12-14
  • Reviewer: Staff

The crippling alcoholism of freelance journalist Alex Dale, the heroine of British author Seddons impressive first novel, has cost her nearly everythingher husband, a baby, and her job. Her current assignment writing about health issues takes her to the neuro-disability ward at Tunbridge Wells Royal Infirmary, which treats patients in long-term comas. New research shows that some patients, while unable to communicate outwardly, are still able to communicate using brain scans. Alex becomes interested in one patient in particular, Amy Stevenson, who was brutally attacked at age 15, in 1995, and has been in a coma for the 15 years sincetrapped inside her body, but unable to tell her story. Alex becomes determined to solve the mystery behind Amys attack, convinced that breaking this story will resurrect her journalism career. Told from alternating perspectives and alternating decades, this gripping thriller about family and redemption will keep readers engaged to the very end. Agent: Jenny Bent, Bent Agency. (Feb.)

 
BAM Customer Reviews